Different Kinds of Progress

With the end of the first PIIT28 month, there have been tons of before/after pics surfacing on Instagram. Most, if not all, of the comments for these pics from the PIITster community have been positive, but there has also been a ton of negativity. Insults and accusations that the after pics were photoshopped, that people are “sucking it in.”

It’s sad and it can break a person. People seem to be forgetting that there is a real person on the other side of that picture reading those hurtful comments. I don’t know why people think it’s okay to drop all forms of politeness when they get on the internet. Why their inner haters come out, sometimes in the most cruel ways.

All of the hard work these people have gone through, and this program is NOT easy in the least, and all of their efforts are being belittled and insulted. The people being attacked are the ones getting the best results. Heaven forbid the camera is at a different angle the second time around or they’re standing a foot back from where they stood the first time. These can make big changes in how a person appears. I know, I had the same effect with my own pictures.

But enough about that. I really wanted to talk about the people who haven’t shown an amazing amount of progress in their body measurements. These people, their weight hasn’t changed and they haven’t really lost any noticeable inches for whatever reason.

Just because the numbers haven’t changed (or changed much), doesn’t mean the people haven’t changed. I’m going to tell you now that that’s just balderdash. You literally cannot get through this program without changing.

I’m not done with the program yet (that impromptu break still irks me but I’m getting over it), but I’m almost done so I’m going to say what’s changed in me. I won’t mention any numbers because that really should wait until I’m done. This program is about so much more than just numbers though.

What’s changed in me?

  • Happiness. It’s the endorphins from the daily workouts. It’s the sense of being accepted into a loving and supportive community. It’s the feeling of accomplishment, productivity, power, and strength I get when I’ve completed a workout. Since starting this program, I’m a happier person overall.
  • One Legged Crow Pose 3-29-16

    One Legged Crow Pose against a wall 3/29/16

    Strength/Willpower. I’ve gained both mental and physical strength. My mentality has changed and is changing from “I can’t do this” to “I can do this” and “I will do this.” My layers of fat from a bad diet haven’t impeded the growth of my muscles. I can do yoga poses that I didn’t think were possible before, hold poses solidly for a longer period of time, and easily get into poses that I had trouble with before.

  • Crow Pose

    Crow Pose 3/29/16

    Confidence/Self Esteem. I’ve gained so much self confidence since starting this program. The stronger I get, the more I can accomplish, and then the more I believe I can do and achieve. My abilities have gotten to the point where I’m not feeling so bad about my extra fat and cellulite anymore because I know that those things don’t define me. Despite not having a 6-pack or even a semi-flattish belly, I know I’m strong. I have cellulite and flab, but I am strong. Just look at me rock that Crow Pose! I held that sucker solidly and only stopped when I did because my wrists were hurting from their excessive use during the PIIT28 workout earlier that day. I’m not even balking at showing the world pictures of me wearing booty shorts.

  • Pride. I am so proud of myself for what I’ve accomplished. I’m loving what my body can do.

I was gaining confidence in myself before PIIT28, but I was still so doubtful as to a lot of things. Can I really become a POP Pilates instructor? Am I good enough? Am I strong enough? Do I look like a plausible instructor?

Now I think, yes, I can do this. It’s hard but look at all I’ve accomplished in one month. Keep it up and I can do it. One day I won’t be completely winded before the POP Pilates class is halfway done. One day I’ll be able to do those evil rotten Plank Jack Donkey Kicks without wanting to die. After all, I can already do the Plank Jacks. Maybe by the end of round 2 of PIIT28, I’ll be able to consistently add in the Donkey Kick as well.

Anything’s possible. I went from being terrified of getting into a headstand to being easily able to get into even a handstand (with a wall). I’ve gone from being able to hold a shaky headstand that fully required the wall for balance and support for a couple seconds to this which took about 45 seconds to record:

Scorpion Pose 3/29/16

Scorpion Pose 3/29/16

This was my first time ever practicing the Scorpion pose. I watched a bunch of how-to videos before attempting it. I took a video of the process but only kept a picture because I was inverted for about 45 seconds before finally stopping. That’s a pretty long video to have on my phone and I needed the space so out it went.

Success like this makes me believe that I’m close to being able to practice that tripod headstand again…without fear of breaking my neck (the first and last time I tried it ended not so good).

Anything is possible.

Don’t base your progress just on how you look. Base it on everything. Base it on how you feel, how you think, how much you can do now that you couldn’t do before.

Click on the above picture to buy the PIIT28 program

Click on the above picture to buy the PIIT28 program

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming world-famous (not really). I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a writer, a group fitness instructor, a personal trainer, and a nutter for doing all of the above.

Posted on March 30, 2016, in Fitness, Personal, PIIT28 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This is such a motivational post. Even though you’re not talking about physical body changes – which is rare. Thanks for this! x

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

    • ^_^ hehe Yeah, usually everyone focuses on the numbers, including me. I’ve spent months changing my way of thinking. Physical changes are important, yes, but too many people are focusing only on that. Too much hate going on. Not enough credit is being given to what we can’t easily see when we look at someone or ourselves.

  2. You have no idea how proud of you this post makes me. *__* Teen me wants to give you the biggest, most awkward hug ever! So proud that you’ve overcome past programming. So proud that you’re overcoming yourself. And so frickin’ happy to see you feeling so strong!! Woooooo! Thanks for helping on my own path, and for consistently providing a source of support, strength, and inspiration!

Leave a comment