When Life Interrupts

I got back a few days ago from visiting family in SoCal. It was fun. Because everything’s so darn expensive over there now, my conscience could only handle going to one place (my parents were treating us and I didn’t want them going bankrupt going to a bunch of theme parks).

My son loves ocean life and, from what I’ve been told, this is the last year Seaworld is going to have the orcas so we went there. My son had a blast. I, on the other hand, pushed my mother in her wheelchair (with my son frequently on her lap, lazy butt that he can be) up and down hills all day. At about 230-240 lbs, she’s not light. Neither is my son at 45 lbs. My muscles were working that day.

We were there for about 8 1/2 hours but I only pushed her for perhaps 5-6 of those hours. There was the sit down for lunch and shows and a time when my son and I went on some rides.

By the time we got back to the hotel room, it was about 9pm and I was exhausted! My feet/legs hurt sooooo much! Also, I felt super disgusting from having been drenched in salt water during the One Ocean show with the orcas.

seaworld wet

That’s when it happened. My first flub this month. I missed my PIIT28 workout. It was awful. I felt supremely guilty despite having gotten an excellent workout pushing my mom/son all through the park.

I had been so good up till then. Despite being in SoCal for several days by that point and having family stuff every one of those days, I had gotten my workouts in. But that day was just too much. Instead I did it the next day. Yay for me! We were supposed to go back to Colorado the day after that but our flight was canceled due to a major blizzard in Colorado. So instead we did more family stuff in a haphazard sort of way so I again wasn’t able to get my workout in. So FRUSTRATING!!!!

Due to family stuff, I haven’t worked out since Tuesday and it’s left me feeling guilty, frustrated, and depressed with a mondo heaping of FAILURE staring at me from on the side.

To be completely honest, I seriously debated lying to everyone because I thought I wouldn’t get the free PIIT28 shirt. Shallow, yes, I know. I had worked so hard the whole month and then to have my efforts ruined at the end…I chose not to lie though because, well, I’m not cut out to be a liar. I hate lying. Really hate it. I would’ve felt like a total fake as well as a failure then.

PIIT28 shirt

Click on the above picture to get the PIIT28 program

As if in reward for my good moral decision, Cassey Ho sent out an e-mail later that day saying everyone who finished the program would receive the free shirt upon completion no matter when they started. They just had to complete the full program.

YES!!!

I was so relieved. Which is a good thing because I’ve ended up missing this entire last week. My husband doesn’t live with us right now (job stuff) so when he can visit, we drop pretty much everything to have as much family time as possible. Usually I can get my workout in when he’s here because he takes a nap, but this time the blizzard left a ton of snow that was perfect for snowmen, snowballs, and sledding so we’ve done as much of that as we could instead.

Since my workout space is tinier than usual due to the hubby’s luggage, I’m going to rest today (Sunday’s a rest day anyway). Everything in me revolts at the idea of getting yet another day behind everyone but I’m going to ignore this feeling. I’m going to practice the POP 4 choreography instead and start the final week of PIIT28 on Monday. That way I’ll stay in tune with when I’ve been exercising. And I’ll have my workout space back.

OMG! I practiced the POP 4 choreography with my hands on the plane ride home! The lady next to me probably thought I was nuts. Makes me laugh. I got a solid 2 hours of practice in though and I really got into the zone so I stopped caring after the first couple songs. Yay for not caring what other people think!

Okay, since I did do some PIIT28 workouts while on vacation, here’s how they went.

3/18/16 PIIT28 1.4: Lean Body

emoji screaming faceemoji speak no evil monkeyRound 1: emoji cold sweat   Round 2: emoji see no evil monkey Round 3: emoji triumph Round 4: emoji fireemoji flexed bicep

For the first time ever I wore my Blogilates booty shorts in public. There was a fitness center at the hotel so I bucked up, took my mat in it’s cute new Blogilates bag that I got for Christmas, and entered the room…only to find it was tiny and 3 people were already in it. The person closest to me…was a man! I could have died right there. I wanted to be brave and wear my booty shorts because I feel strong and powerful in them. I did not want to wear them for the first time in public in front of a guy. After the 1st round I was too tired to pay attention to him…much. It was also pretty weird to exercise in front of a wall of mirrors so I was more focused on myself and the muscles popping out on my thighs whenever I jumped.

3/19/16 PIIT28 1.5: Cardio Camp

Round 1: emoji wink kiss heart Round 2: emoji grinning with smiley eyes Round 3: emoji cryingemoji tired Round 4: emoji triumphemoji smiling-face-with-sunglassesemoji flexed bicep

Out at the pool today! Be-a-u-ti-ful!

pool side

3/22/16 PIIT28 1.6: Booty Lift

Round 1: emoji persevering Round 2: emoji head bandage Round 3: emoji thumbs down Round 4: emoji booyah

Ouch! My knees were not having this one. Had to modify the jumping lunges back down to walking lunges. And tuck jumps. Ugh. Just ugh. So happy to be done with this one. I did the cool down then practiced the POP 4 cool down twice. My body was so happy.

We must take what life gives us and make the best of it. I may be behind in the PIIT28 program now but I WILL finish it this week! Life should be going back to normal with spring break out of the way so there shouldn’t be anymore interruptions.

make lemonade

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming world-famous (not really). I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a writer, a group fitness instructor, a personal trainer, and a nutter for doing all of the above.

Posted on March 27, 2016, in Fitness, Personal, PIIT28 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Not fitting in the things we really want to do/are dedicated to doing can be sooo frustrating! I won’t tell ya all the things you did that make up for it, ’cause you clearly know already. ^_^ But I completely feel your irritation. I always feel like no matter the circumstances or how much is out of my control, I should still be able to make it work. Grrr! Which just means I need to work on learning how to cut myself some slack…
    Good luck with this week! I’m glad you still get the shirt. That would have been a huuuuge bummer.

    • Yeah this is an issue a lot of people struggle with I think. We want to go the whole way but life gets in the way and we can’t for whatever reason. It seriously sucks but we shouldn’t beat ourselves up over it or believe we’ve failed because of it. It’s so much easier to say and think than to practice when it happens. Good luck with it! 😉

Leave a comment