Humorous Side-Effects of Gluten and Keeping Up With My Fitness

If ever my family doubted my insensitivity to gluten products, it no longer exists. Our plane landed Monday evening and they took us out to dinner at a buffet. I had eaten well the whole day because I figured my dinner choices wouldn’t be the best. Sure enough, though I started with a very nice salad, the junk called out to me. Lots of gluten and dairy products later and I was stinking up the car on the way home with some very loud and very smelly outbursts from my nether regions.

image

The rest of the night was spent with my son playing with my dad’s fart blaster (from Despicable Me 2). He gave it to me at one point and told me to do it so I stood, stuck out my butt toward him and blasted…though not from the gun. Everyone just about died laughing (we are a potty humour kind of family).

image

For some reason they’ve all been pointing out gluten-free products for me to eat ever since.

The really nice thing is that they searched a long time for an allergen-free cake long before we started our visit because they knew regular cake made me sick. My poor sister had made fudge and was excited to offer me some. She’s no longer offering me any. Hmm…

It’s hot in CO (though not too bad yet) and I’ve gotten stuck in the habit of taking a shower at night before bed because there’s not much time during the day. We’ve kept busy during the day. I don’t want get sweaty from a bunch of cardio, take a shower midday, and then feel all grungy again at night so my cardio has been neglected so far. Not the strength training though!

Monday – rest from travel

Tuesday – Total Body Toning

Wednesday – Sleek and Sexy ArmsVictoria Secret Super Model Stiletto Legs Workout

HOLY COW! My arms!! And abs! Thighs hurt but only when I squat and not it’s not bad. That Total Body Toning is supposed to work everything but I felt it mostly in the front of my abs. I may take today off but I’ll probably do the Bikini Bootcamp for another full body workout.

I have to say that despite skipping cardio, that Stiletto Legs workout had my pulse up after awhile anyway. There are stairs here too so I run up them whenever I have to go up. Down not so much because I have been known to fall going down. I’m not the most graceful of people.

Oh yeah! One last note. I’ll be away from the internet this Sunday so I’ll be skipping my usual Sunday update. I guess you can consider this an early Sunday post? Anyway, I’ll post again toward the end of next week again.

What makes you bust a gut laughing?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming world-famous (not really). I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a writer, a group fitness instructor, a personal trainer, and a nutter for doing all of the above.

Posted on July 3, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How’s the exercise going while at the parents’? Say hi to them for me. 🙂

    I wanted to mention really quick: I just got back from a nutritional analysis where I was told that long-term use of omeprazole causes B12 deficiency. Because of what it does for the stomach, it generally causes absorption issues, meaning you can lose a lot of the nutrients you’re eating. B12’s the biggie, but also Vitamin D, Calcium, Iron, and Folic Acid. Pretty sure that’s why my Vitamin D dropped so incredibly low this year and why I got a little anemic this spring. I don’t know if you’re still taking it, but thought I’d mention, just in case!

    • Exercise at my parents’ house has been good. No cardio but plenty of strength training. Unfortunately, we just got back from a vacation to my dad’s cabin and I stopped exercising entirely over there. But that’s not my parents’ house so it doesn’t count for your question. 😉

      My doctor told me about the absorption issues but he focused more on osteoporosis. I think I’m too much like my parents – if I can avoid the health issue, I will. I foresee supplements in my future. I know plenty of other people are very much against this though and I won’t stand in their natural way.

      • Hehehe. Sneak by on semantics – nice!

        I was going to say “Which doesn’t mean you need to stop taking it if it’s doing good things for you, just that you might want to add extras to counter-balance it.” But I didn’t, ’cause I didn’t want to be…Erm. I’m not sure. Like I was suggesting I might be telling you what to do, even though I wasn’t? Or something. 😛 Anyway, there you go! Technically, because of the degradation of variety in our seed strains and food sources over the centuries, most of us need to supplement anyway. Heck, most of us DO, and just don’t know it – manufacturers dump the supplements straight into the food (like my Frosted Flakes that tell me how awesome a source of Vitamin D they are). We just can’t get everything we need from the foods available to us. Me, I would like to get as much as I could from fresh fruits and veggies, but I, uh…well, I don’t like to cook. Supplements are much more time effective. 🙂

      • hehe Yeah, it’s fine. I do try to supplement. I’ve been seriously bad at it lately because I forget and it’s not a problem so far but I know I’ll have to buckle down ont hat later because, it’s true, I don’t get everything I need from food and the medicine is going to ruin my absorption later on too. =T And this seems to be life. Each succeeding generation has a worse time of it it seems.

Leave a comment