Healthy Smoothies and Outside Fitness

I did a very bad thing during my vacation with my parents – I stuffed my body full of so much dairy and gluten that I felt sick to my stomach (even on Omeprazole!) last night. This has happened before when I was first changing my diet over a year ago.

Oops.

It was a wake-up call that I have seriously let myself go. I shouldn’t need a wake-up call but obviously I did. Sometimes I wonder about myself.

image

I’m a bit bored with my single smoothie recipe. I modify it by changing up my fruit but other than that it’s always the same. I don’t have a whole bunch of money to be buying a lot of different ingredients but it would be nice if I could switch it up at least a little. I’m more worried that I’d buy the ingredients and then not use them. I hate wasted money especially with food.

image

I won’t be able to use, like, any of these recipes without modification because of all the dairy in them but with a bit of thought I’m sure I can modify them to my dietary restrictions. Some of these modifications would be expensive though. Like if I still wanted to use yogurt I could use coconut yogurt but that stuff is expensive. Those smoothies would be special treats I think. Hopefully they’d taste good enough to be treats instead of a punishment for something I can’t help.

When I get back home, I have a plan for getting back into shape and getting my diet back under control. Since my son is on summer break, I get to take care of him 24/7. So how do I exercise the way I like while also getting him outside and giving him attention?

Cardio:

  • jogging/walking while he rides his bike (always on trails)
  • Blogilates
  • Tone It Up
  • spurts of various cardio ie: jumping jacks, quick feet, burpees, etc (that he can join in on between bouts of sitting)

Strength Training:

  • Blogilates
  • Weights
  • Playground Equipment
  • Bands
  • Own Body
  • Tone It Up

I’m looking forward to using the playground as a means of strength training. Found this on Blogilates:

image

Can’t wait to try it!

What’s your favorite smoothie recipe?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on July 13, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

