Seattle Vacation and July’s Plan

We’ve returned from our “vacation” to Seattle! I’ve given a short account of it, Back From Seattle, on my writing blog.

I had the best of intentions with my exercise. I even took a band along with me for the moves in the Thigh Trimmer and Butt Lifter though there was no way in hell I was going to take dumbbells with me to do Pura Vida. I should’ve had a little more forethought when choosing my upper body routine.

Knowing I’d be too tired Monday night to exercise and I’d spend all afternoon driving, I did my workout in the morning. I got through the cardio and upper/lower body before calling it quits. I planned poorly and had to take a shower and pack for the trip. Just as well because I was pooped! It took me nearly 30 minutes anyway which is what I always aim for so I was happy enough though my core really needs the most work these days.

My legs and butt ended up hurting so much that I had extreme difficulty even sitting on the toilet! It was quite painful. As for running to catch up with my son, forget it. I was constantly calling him back to my side. He got quite fed up with me but I told him mommy was really hurting and he understood and stayed with me as best he could. I also did my best to move as quickly as I could for him. That aching soreness lasted from Monday night till Thursday night. Ugh. It was a blessing when I woke up Friday and could move without wincing. Of course, by that point I did it all again along with the core routine so I started aching all over again.

So here’s a quick recap of what I was supposed to do this last week:

Blogilates:

Tone It Up:

I did the extra routine from Tone It Up on Saturday because my arms barely felt worked and my core felt completely neglected. I don’t know how many rounds I’m supposed to do – probably 3 – but I stuck with 1 because my shoulders and forearms were giving me trouble. However, I was happy with how well I was able to perform the ab exercises. I totally rocked them! That’s probably thanks to Blogilates pushing me so hard.

So why didn’t I exercise while I was gone? Because I was in such horrible pain that I could barely sit to pee much less do a squat for any other reason. Also my feet hurt like hell from walking the whole day on Tu and Wed.

I have a vaguer plan for these next 2 weeks. Yes, I said 2 weeks. Although my husband has to stay home, my son and I are going to visit my parents in Colorado.

It’s difficult to exercise there. They’re sedentary people and I love to join in their relaxation when I visit them. It’s super easy to sit back and soak in the calm.

BUT! I do have a plan to combat this addictive laziness!

None of the routines I’ve picked need anything so I have no real excuse not to do them (unless I find I have nowhere to lie down in which case I’ll have to rethink a lot of the moves).

I’ll be going the way of full body routines for the next 2 weeks. Instead of confining myself to only one routine though, I’ll have two in case I get bored and want to switch or in case I want to do them 2 days in a row. These 2 routines look as if they’d be different enough to allow me to do that.

Bikini Bootcamp

tumblr_lzkifoStcF1r6bk9xo6_500

Total Body Toning

c13f7236b60c1de65d870186f7fd00f1

Because my body isn’t remotely used to the last 2 cardio routines I’ve chosen from Blogilates, I’m going to reuse them, switching them up like with the full body routines.

If I get bored or decide I only want to focus on one part of my body, I’ll choose from these routines:

Stiletto Legs Workout

2afa1649f50ca47d2cef1091f095768e

Sleek and Sexy Arms

9028aeb2f1ad52a8cf29cb94f2a37a52

Fabulous Flat Abs

e9bee7b21824e0ba803540358aa293ad

No, I won’t be wearing stilettos for that lower body workout. Mainly because I don’t have stilettos. But also because I’d look like an idiot trying to balance in heels that high and it would hurt my knees.

How do you exercise while on vacation? Do you exercise while on vacation?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on June 29, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

