Blueberry Empanadas

After trying to stomach a dairy-based soup the other night and nearly vomiting all over the place, I lamented yet again that I cannot eat dairy or gluten products. I don’t really care about soups; the real kicker is that I get to pass by the breads and pastries in the store and can’t get any.

My husband has a potluck coming up soon and there are a few people like me (except worse) so I wanted to make something tasty that we could eat. It’s usually pretty difficult to find safe things to eat at a potluck because most people don’t think about the allergens they’re putting into their food. Let’s face it – why think about it if it doesn’t affect you?

I found a simple recipe for Blueberry Hand Pies (empanadas) posted by Carol Kicinski at Simply Gluten-Free and tested it out the other day. Here’s what I learned:

  • don’t bake wax paper at 400 degrees – it burns and sets off the smoke alarm
  • lightly flour your work surface when rolling out the dough
  • don’t over-fill your pie – it will explode

Blueberry Empanadas:

Ingredients:

2c blueberries

1/4c sugar

1/2 lemon – juiced and zest finely grated

2tsp cornstarch (or tapioca starch)

1 box (7.5oz) Chebe Original or All-Purpose Bread Mix

3 large eggs

2tbsp melted butter or vegetable oil

Directions:

In a saucepan combine 1 1/2c blueberries with 1/4c sugar, lemon juice and zest. Bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes or until blueberries are very soft and start to burst. Combine cornstarch with 2tbsp water and stir into blueberries. Bring back to a boil and let boil until mixture thickens (about 30 seconds). Add remaining 1/2c blueberries and let cool completely.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking mat.

Stir together bread mix with 2 eggs, 2tbsp oil/melted butter, and 1/4c water. Knead until smooth (about 1 minute). Divide dough into 6 equal portions and roll into balls. Sandwiched between wax or parchment paper, flatten a dough ball into a disk and roll into a 6″ circle. Spread 2 heaping tbsp of cooled blueberry mixture on one half of dough, leaving a 1/2″ border at edge. Fold dough over to form a half circle. Pinch dough edges together, fold over to crimp, and place on prepared baking sheet. Repeat with remaining balls.

Using a fork, poke holes in the top of each of the pies several times. Whisk the last egg with a splash of water and brush on top of each pie. Sprinkle with sugar. Bake for 20 minutes or until crusts are lightly browned. Let cool.

Servings: 6

This recipe is gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free. Those are the only allergens I can remember right now. I used cornstarch because I had some and didn’t want to spend extra money just for tapioca starch. I also used Arrowhead All-Purpose Baking Mix instead of the suggested Chebe Original or Bread Mix. The “butter” I used is a buttery spread so it’s really a fake butter made with vegetable oil. Tastes the same to me. At least, I don’t remember how real butter tastes so I assume it tastes the same. hehe

I got to use my grater for the first time since I bought it about 2 years ago. Yay! This recipe also allowed me to finally buy a rolling pin. I was super excited to try it out! My husband was impressed that I made the dough all by myself instead of it being premade. He missed seeing me look all house-wifey with a rolling pin and kneading dough.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming world-famous (not really). I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a writer, a group fitness instructor, a personal trainer, and a nutter for doing all of the above.

Posted on November 23, 2013, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment