“Stacked” Cardio

Oh. My. Holy. Cow!

I just got my butt handed to me on a platter!

Today’s Challenge: Angela Leigh’s 13-Minute Fat Melt – cardio portion.

Cardio Moves:

  1. Tap That (30 sec)
  2. On Thin Ice (alt sides 30 sec)
  3. Bottoms Up (30 sec)
  4. Sprinter (15 sec each side)
  5. Superstar (30 sec)
  6. Bring It In (30 sec)

Quick reminder of how to do this kind of stacking workout: do move #1 then rest 30sec; move #1, #2 then rest 30sec; #1, #2, #3 then rest; etc till you reach the end. Move #6 should only be done once because it’s the last move of the last set.

At first I thought Tap That was too easy. 30sec of butt kicking and then I rest for 30sec? pfft! Whatever. But then the 2nd set where I add in On Thin Ice had my heartrate racing. I think I should’ve done a better warm-up because it felt like going from walking to running. By the end of the 3rd set I felt like I had been sprinting. 4th set my heart/lungs felt like they were going to pop! I haven’t been in pain like that since I was really fat and trying to jog for the first time in college.

If people listen to their bodies, they can tell when pain is good and should be accepted and when pain is bad and they should be backing off. This was the bad kind of pain. So I quit after that 4th set (ending with Sprinter) and walked around to cool down. There’s still a shadow of pain there now but it’s as if I had been sprinting and pushing myself really hard. My legs are super tired and my butt is so sore!

My new goal should be to practice, practice, practice and get stronger so that I can finish those cards! I don’t usually give up on something. If I think I can’t do it, I modify the moves or I take a bit of a longer rest so that I can but I didn’t think I had it in me this time to finish.

This will be one of those workouts where I’ll need to go at it a little at a time, bit by bit until I can finish. So I’ll try to do these cardio moves twice a week and try to get a little farther each time. Maybe I’ll have made it by the New Year.

*DISCLAIMER: I will not be held responsible for any injuries incured while trying these workouts. Always consult your doctor before starting any new exercise. If you’d like personalized help reaching your fitness/health goals or are merely looking for new ideas, consider making an appt with a personal trainer or trying out a group exercise class at your local gym. Always listen to your body and be careful not to push yourself beyond your limits. Injuries suck!*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 20, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

