April – 2nd Week PIIT28 1.0

We’ve moved into the 2nd week of PIIT28 1.0 and already I did an oopsie. Saturday was a rest day, sure, but Sunday I was supposed to get back into things with 1.6. Yeah, I didn’t do it. I suck at pushing myself to exercise on the weekend. But, ya know what? My knees really enjoyed the extra day of rest and on Monday I was back to being able to push myself to the max again. So I guess I needed that extra day after going past my limits on Th/F.

From now on I won’t stress about resting 2 days in a row. Stress is NOT what this program is about. It’s supposed to be a stress-RELIEVER not a stress-MAKER. So forget it. This means it’ll take longer for me to get through the program however I’m still on the fence about repeating that 1.5 cardio workout considering it wasn’t really cardio for me since I had the modifications aren’t intense.

In fact, I was considering not repeating the workouts at all. I have all 3 programs and I’ve already done 1.0 the whole way through. I’m considering going through all 11 workouts in 1.0 and then, instead of repeating them for the 2nd half of the month, doing the 11 workouts from 2.0 to finish the month. It would be so fresh! So new! I’m really liking that idea. Other people who have been doing these programs for awhile combine all 3. Of course, you need to complete each program before you can do this.

I get bored easily and I remember getting bored in the 2nd half of the month with 1.0 last year. Switching to 2.0 for the 2nd half might be just what I need to keep pushing to make it through.

Anyway, here’s the 2nd week of PIIT28 1.0!

PIIT28 1.6 Booty Lift

Round 1:   Round 2:  Round 3:  Round 4:

Work that booty! Uh huh. My butt is seriously sore and on fire. I’m glad I saved it for Monday else I’d be more sore. Good way to start the week! I like it when Mondays start like this. Productive and butt-burning in a non-hemorrhoidal sort of way.

PIIT28 1.7 Core Crusher

Round 1: Round 2:  Round 3:  Round 4: 

Sometimes exercise is super fun, sometimes it’s not. I wasn’t feeling it today to be honest. Tons of crunches. Though every crunch move was “different,” they were all crunches so I got super bored in the very first round. Not my favorite workout (PIIT or otherwise). We all have off days and this was mine. It happens. We move on.

PIIT28 1.8 Dancer’s Legs

Round 1:   Round 2:  Round 3:  Round 4:

HOT DAWG!!! Easily my favorite PIIT workout so far. This was so much FUN!!! Sometimes I moan and groan and count the seconds till I’m done. Not this time. Each move was like a whirlwind. Time whooshed by till I was done and going “I’m done? HELL YEAH!!! WOO!!” My legs were on fire the whole time but in a good way.

BodyPUMP served as my warm-up (yikes!) but the format used was much easier on the legs than usual so the two complemented each other wonderfully. Instead of hopping with squats/plies/etc I would squat/plie and then lift up on my toes when I stood. Excellent calf work! My calves are gaining so much muscle and definition! I’m super excited about this.

PIIT28 1.9 Sleek & Sexy Back

Round 1:  Round 2:  Round 3:  Round 4: 

Oooooh this was hard. So so hard. Did I give up though? Hell No! My back is looking better than it has in month because of all the POP Pilates. I want it to look EVEN BETTER!! And what did I get for my efforts? There is a move called a Piked Hop where you start in plank and then hop your feet forward a bit (it doesn’t have to be much) and as you hop you pike your butt up into downward dog.

When I first did the 1.0 program I couldn’t really do this move. First I had to find the groove of how to do it. After I got that part done, I found I didn’t have the strength to hop so I’d have to walk my feet forward. By the end of that first month, I could do a Piked Hop and I could do it the whole way through a round or at least close to it. Fast forward a year later and I’m attempting the Piked Hop again. I know the groove already but no longer have the strength in that first week to do the full move the whole time. 2nd week later (only the SECOND WEEK LATER) and I’m rocking the Piked Hop the whole time!

Just 1 week into this program and I’m blasting through Piked Hops for the entire 45 seconds during all 4 rounds! DAMN! I’m a power house! I was so psyched by the end of the workout that I took a muscle selfie.

Damn! Demi Lovato's song Confident was playing as I finished my PIIT28 workout today. It inspired me to take a pic of my arm muscles. I am proud and confident these days. I'm building muscle and, instead of wondering if I can accomplish something, I go out and do it! At one point I had despaired of ever getting my muscle back but look at that arm and shoulder! That's some crazy definition for me! Life is good. No one showed up for my POP class today (which I expected). After practicing some tracks for later I thought, "All right. If no one wants to POP, I'll PIIT and get home sooner." And I did. It was crazy hard but I stuck with it and rocked the whole workout! #piit28 #bodypump #poppilates #poparmy #popsters #goodvibesonly #blogifam #strength #musclegain #fitness #confident #demilovato #piitprincess #piitsters #ymca #hastings #hastingsymca #nebraska

A post shared by Katie Shin (@kstjshin) on

I won’t go through this next round of 1.5 Cardio Camp again. Suffice it to say that I will be doing it rather than skipping or replacing it. My knees are feeling awesome strong this week, but I promise to hold myself back and be responsible in today’s PIIT28 activities.

By the way, here’s a little something Blogilates has been working on a video for PIIT28 (I can’t seem to embed the video from FB here so the link is just sending you to the video)…

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fblogilates%2Fvideos%2F1307443935971198%2F&show_text=0&width=560

Niiiiice! Proof that you really can do PIIT28 anywhere you go! Well, maybe not in the grocery store or other such public places. People might get a little grumpy with you if you bust out in plank jack donkey kicks there. And especially don’t do it in a movie theatre. Interrupting movies is bad and the floors are super nasty. But, you know, at the park, at home, at your kid’s baseball/soccer/etc game or in some other non-crowded safe place. You get the idea – you’re not confined to the gym.

I’m usually at the gym doing my workouts but that’s because I work there so it’s convenient. The days when I’m not teaching a fitness class, I’ll do my PIIT28 workout at home. I have my mat to keep my sweaty back off the carpet. If you live in an apartment and don’t want to go outside, find an appropriate time during the day to do the workout instead of 10pm or 2am etc. A little consideration goes a long way with people.

Happy PIITing!

If you want to try the Power Pack and get all the programs (1.0-3.0), click the above pic!

 

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 14, 2017, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge, Personal, PIIT28 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Yay you! I don’t know why I haven’t been seeing the posts on this blog. :/ You look so adorbs in that pic!

    Anyway, I’m feeling super hugely better than I’ve been for months, so I’m getting back to things. You can switch out the Body Balance blog (which I deleted…I dunno. Last year sometime. Shouldn’t have done it…sigh) for my Balancing Wings blog (https://balancingwings.wordpress.com/). It’s pretty much the same thing with a different name. 🙂

  2. Whoohoo! Fellow Popster! I started PIIT 1.0 last year but couldn’t continue because my flat was too small, and my downstairs neighbors weren’t too happy with all the jumping. I loved the energy it gave me though, and the exercises were tough but rewarding. Did you see the new program she launched last weekend, that one is apartment proof so I’ll be starting that one real soon. Good luck with PIIT!

    Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts and posts with our community of health, fitness and nutrition enthusiasts over at “The Active You”? We’d love to hear what you have to say. You can check us out over at https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou!

    • 😀 Hey hey! ❤

      I DID the new program she's doing. That 6-week bootcamp, right? I wanted so much to try it but I'm still in the middle of PIIT28 and when she said this first one for the booty is in PIIT style, I was all, "Hmm…Maybe I should wait until I'm done…" If I push too hard, my body will fall apart and I already have quite a bit of physical activities on my plate. But I'm still looking forward to it. Because of my knees I have to modify PIIT28 anyway though so I don't jump…at all. It can get boring because I'm not distracted by how tired I am (though I do get super tired some days anyway). I try to keep my brain busy with fun music though and thinking how I can incorporate some of the moves into other classes. It passes the time.

      The Active You huh? Yeah, I'll go take a look. Thanks! ^_^ Good luck with that new Bootcamp when you start it! 😀

      • Yeah, that one! I tried the first episode and it was tough, but as usual, very rewarding. Music is definitely the answer, it gets me through a huge part of the workout without thinking about how tired I am or how much it burns! Good luck with PIIT and hopefully see you in the group!

Leave a Reply

