Fitness Progress

After I got the news that I had mild arthritis in my knees and that further running would make it worse, I looked and looked for another kind of cardio to get into. I couldn’t do PIIT28 because of all the jumping either. I was worried that this would cause me to gain weight again because I wasn’t working hard cardio-wise. That wasn’t quite the case though.

I kept pushing myself as hard as before with my strength training and I tried to walk and use the elliptical 2-3 times a week. I tried to do swimming and cycling but the timing was difficult to get right. Luckily the weather has been really good lately so walking outside was quite enjoyable.

I did gain weight but not as much as I feared and I started losing it again after a bit. My gaining problem wasn’t because my cardio was wonky, it was because I was eating tons of peanut butter, candy corn, and marshmallows. The last two I shrug off with a whatever because I stopped eating the candy corn after about a week or so. It’s the peanut butter that probably did it. I’ve been eating so much of it and even the reduced fat peanut butter can be pretty fatty especially when gobbled like it’s the only food available.

peanut-butter

People can say it’s unhealthy all they want. I couldn’t give a rat’s ass. I love me some peanut butter and I always will!workout-and-peanut-butter

And that’s pretty much what I’ve been doing – squats, deadlifts and more in BodyPUMP class twice a week and then eating peanut butter…along with eating other things of course. It’s really only the peanut butter (and marshmallows) that are unhealthy…in the quantity in which I consume them.

Anyway, I’ve been concentrating on introducing new tracks in my POP Pilates class. The classes are gradually getting harder and harder. Today’s was a killer. Everyone liked it though so we’ll stick with it for a little while and gain some muscle. Between BodyPUMP and POP, I feel like my arms are going to fall off at the shoulders.

Here are my measurements:

10-1-16 // 11-2-16

  • Arms: L 12 1/4″ R 12 5/8″ // L 12 1/4″ R 12 3/4″ (R +1/8″)
  • Thighs: L 23 3/4″ R 23 1/2″ // LR 23 3/4″ (R +1/4″)
  • Waist: 35 1/2″ // 35 1/2″
  • Lower Belly: 42″ // 41 1/4″ (-3/4″)
  • Hips: 44 1/4″ // 44″ (-1/4″)
  • Chest: 32 1/4″ // 32″ (-1/4″)
  • Bust: 40 1/4″ // 39″ (-1 1/4″)
  • Weight: 186.4 lbs // 185.6 lbs (-.9 lb)

The arm gain I fully believe is muscle gain because I’ve made incredible improvement in that strength area. The leg gain…not sure. There has been definite muscle gain. Just not sure if that’s really what’s accounted for the change in size. My bust loss could very easily be fake. I was wearing a very different bra from the one I normally wear (normal one was dirty) and it causes a bit of a squished uniboob instead of giving the ladies their own space. I’ll do the measurement again now that my bras are clean once more (yay for laundry day!) and see if there’s a difference. I am gaining some serious muscle in my back (upper and lower) though, so…I don’t know…maybe I’ll wittled some fat away in that area. It’d be nice…

measuring-tape

I hate measuring tapes. And scales. Unless they tell me something I want to hear. I got half and half this time around. Some was good, some was discouragingly neutral, some was probably not bad but I still haven’t learned to 100% like higher numbers even if I know they’re from muscle gain. I’m doing my best to focus on the lower belly and hips size loss and all of my muscle gain (of which I know there is quite a bit) though. Hopefully I’ll be able to look past the numbers more easily soon but it hasn’t happened yet.

Damn peanut butter.

Honestly, I’d eat more peanut butter right now except it’s kind of late for me and I don’t want to wake up in the middle of the night from heartburn because I ate freaking peanut butter right before bed.

Yes, I go to bed absurdly early.

funny-sleep-quotes-7

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 3, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Try walking lunges for distance or time. Done properly and once you are able to build up to 400m plus or 15 minutes straight or more without stopping, you will find this to be a great low to no impact cardio option that also builds up the lower body and core muscles, joints and ligaments.

Leave a Reply

