Quiet Progress

I know I’ve been a ghost for awhile, but I have a good reason. I was concentrating on work, fitness, and home life. I’ve stepped up my game fitness-wise. Along with teaching two POP Pilates classes every week (I have more students nowadays and people leave smiling, it’s awesome!), I also take a Body Pump class twice a week and either run or get on the elliptical 3-6 times a week.

Body Pump is SO much fun! And my strength is skyrocketing! I push myself as hard as I can go every class and increase my weights every 2-4 classes depending on what body part I’m working. It’s taken a while to get my leg weight up because of my knees but now that my knees are doing better, I’ve added extra weight. I’ll probably leave it as is for a few more classes because of my knees, but my arm strength is getting better and better.

I’m surprised my biceps are so much weaker than my triceps because they used to be way stronger but my shoulders amaze me. I was enamored watching the muscles and tendons pop out every time I did macros and worked my deltoids. It was magical!

The muscle gains aren’t limited to my limbs though. My core is getting tons stronger as well which I noticed in my POP Pilates class. It was time for Up-Up Down-Downs during the Upper Body track. I always demonstrate the tabletop and modified plank position but then tell people that if they feel strong enough that day to go on their toes. I’ve never actually gone on my toes; it was always hard enough on my knees in modified plank. But this last Thursday I told everyone I was going to try for it and I did it! I was growling at everyone to push push push through it because I was pushing myself so hard that I couldn’t say it with grunting or growling.

I may have only been able to do a few but I did them and that’s all that matters! WOO HOO!!

be-more-successful-today

I’m thinking of switching up the running for some PIIT28 every Tu/Th after my POP class because my knees are pretty much hating me these days, but they’re not protesting all that much compared to the nasty pain of injury. I’m worried I’m pushing my luck too much and that I need to back off from running so much. I hate to be on the elliptical the whole time because running is really helping me and I love to see my speed/endurance progress. But the amount of time I spend icing my knees every day is a bit worrisome.

Maybe run Monday, do PIIT28 Tu/Th, and do elliptical W/F? Sat/Sun are always guessing game days. It couldn’t hurt to get PIIT28 in on Sat as well. But I do need a rest day and Sunday has always worked well for that. Other than that being a totally killer schedule, it sounds good. We’ll see how my brain/body like it this next week.

How about it? Let’s bring some PIIT28 back!! WOO!!

IMG_4583

Last but not least, my progress report! Last time I weighed and measured myself was August 1 when I was trying to do a solid month of PIIT28 again. That didn’t work. I didn’t have the stamina or willpower for it. But I didn’t throw my measurements away nor did I give up (obviously from what I’ve already written here). I tried different things and learned what works for me and what I really like.

8.1.16 // 10.1.16

  • ARMS: L 12 3/4″, R 12 7/8″ // L 12 1/4″, R 12 5/8″ (L -1/2″, R  -1/4″)
  • BUST: 41″ // 40 1/4″ (-3/4″)
  • CHEST: 32 1/4″ // 32 1/4″ (0)
  • WAIST: 37″ // 35 1/2″ (-1 1/2″)
  • LOWER BELLY: 43″ // 42″ (-1″)
  • HIPS: 45 1/2″ // 44 1/4″ (-1 1/4″)
  • THIGHS: 24 1/2″ // L 23 3/4″, R 23 1/2″ (L -3/4″, R -1″)
  • WEIGHT: 190.4 lbs // 186.4 lbs (-4 lbs)

TOTAL LOSS: 4 lbs and 7″

It’s not the weight change I care about, it’s the muscle gain and measurement change. My weight is slowly going down my muscles are getting stronger and stronger and I can see more muscle definition now. Since muscle is heavier than fat, my weight loss doesn’t matter at all. I’m losing fat and gaining muscle in its place.

I feel like Wonder Woman! …Or Supergirl!

wonderwomansupergirl

But I’ll always be a Catwoman at heart.

catwoman

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 1, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s right! I don’t worry about my weight, either. I’m just trying to be overall healthy and gain muscle. You’re doing a great job! Glad you’re seeing the payoff already. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

