Hopefully Healing

Yay! I found the stock of dumbbells in the cardio room for the Total Body Toning class! So now I can go back to my original plan of using my old Circuit Fusion plans for the class if I ever sub. Very happy.

And in preparation for that day (if it ever comes), I’ve started going to the class. My knee is healing. It had better be anyway considering how much I’ve cossetted it with cardio. It’s so boring doing cardio with a blitzy knee. Today I got to walk intervals – slow and slower. Pfft. There was some power walking in there but it would still be considered slow for real power walkers. In order to mix things up, I slowed waaaaaaay down so I could walk sideways without falling over. Outer hips, inner thighs, and some calf work. And then the real work began in class.

relaxing

I’ve been taking it easy (completely) on the weekends and have been mixing up my cardio with elliptical, cycling, and walking on the treadmill. During the week I’ve had to ice my knees several times a day. Today I didn’t have to ice them at all! I was so happy. I hope it’s progress and that I’m not being stupid. Maybe I should’ve iced them anyway. The thigh muscles are feeling prickly now – I’m going to have to roll them out before I go to bed. Totally exhausted today.

ice

A lot happened though not much when compared with other people’s lives. Updating my certifications through online classes, exercising, helping my son with his homework and his studies (that took about an hour!!), taking him to his taekwondo class and dealing with his subsequent tantrum there, making dinner, and soon going to bed. Thank goodness the day is done.

Hopefully no more bad dreams tonight. Last night I dreamt I was surrounded by snakes. Most of them were poisonous and I was barefoot! It was terrifying but they were all asleep until the end when I was on my bed with my son and I noticed a snake on the floor at the foot of the bed (our bed sits directly on the floor so the snake was quite close). I freaked because I was scared it would try to bite my son and made the mistake of trying to shoo it away. It attacked me but I threw a blanket at it and just barely saved myself. But it kept thumping against the blanket trying to strike me.

USA: Wayne Co., Sam A. Baker State Park, Shut-Ins Trail, under fallen log in dry-mesic igneous upland forest.

USA: Wayne Co., Sam A. Baker State Park, Shut-Ins Trail, under fallen log in dry-mesic igneous upland forest.

It was a horrible dream.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 22, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

