Total Body Toning Class + Playlist

This last Friday I took the Total Body Toning class at my Y to see what it was like.

Class Description: Tone the entire body with use of hand weights, resistance bands, and stability balls.

It sounded similar to the Circuit Fusion class I always took and was eventually trained to do and it turned out it was similar. No cardio though. It was designed to tone the muscles in an anaerobic fashion as opposed to aerobic which is the kind that gets your heart rate up.

Translation: No cardio.

That part was disappointing because I love mixing cardio in with my workouts. It gives a better workout in less time. But sticking with pure strength training isn’t a bad thing and I know tons of people prefer to do that. The day after taking the class, my arms were so sore! I had completely forgotten the triceps section of the class so I wondered for awhile why my triceps were so sore. The move had been a bit awkward because I had never thought to do it before but boy did it work! Two days later and I’m still sore.

Anyway, I got to talking with the teacher after the class was done and I may be able to sub for her if the fitness director gives the thumbs up. Just in case I get the green light, I spent my weekend creating a 45-minute class from scratch. It’s not like my old Circuit Fusion classes though because my equipment of choice was always a mat (mainly for ab work) and dumbbells and I don’t think they have enough dumbbells available. I’ll have to check out the equipment in the room when I go next. They have those long bars that I can use and rubber bands but I’m not all that used to them anymore so it would take more thought to put together a workout with those.

It was surprisingly difficult actually because I’m not used to creating routines anymore, I have to keep it anaerobic, and it’s 15 minutes longer than what I used to do. The warm-up is from POP 6 and many of the moves are from Cassey Ho. I’m hoping parts of it will generate some interest in my POP Pilates class too.

I spent almost as much time making the playlist as I did working on the moves. Each song will have 3 moves repeated and will have a different focus. For example: Shakira’s Waka Waka will have Walnut Crushers, Golf Balls, and Back Behinds to work the upper body and That’s Not My Name by The Ting Tings will focus on the lower body with Lunge Pulses, Sideways Scissors, and Plow & Squat. That last move I’m really not sure about because we’ll have a kind of short, squishy mat but not really a mat and I don’t want it sliding out from under people when they do this so I’ll have to test it first. If it always slides, I’ll have to change it to regular squats or side lunges or something. I love the Plow & Squat though, it’s super fun. And what a workout if you have to completely stand up from that squat to move to the next round of Lunge Pulses!

[Insert Evil Laughter]

Here’s the playlist:

I’m hoping to have loose choreography so I won’t have to count, but I’m not sure if this would work or not. Not a big deal though. Each song would still tell me what to work next. I would just count to keep everything even instead of doing it strictly to the music. However, Waka Waka screams for choreography. I’ve already tested it and it was super easy to fall into the rhythm.

Honestly though, I miss dumbbells. I miss Kelly’s Circuit Fusion class. It’s not the same with me doing it because my routines are way different.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 14, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

