Sore Today Sore Tomorrow

Thank goodness for rest days! Although this is technically my second rest day because I took yesterday off from PIIT28 1.0. I’m tiiiiiiiired! Give me a break! Every muscle in my body is super sore! And, actually, I deemed it wise to take an extra break because the back of my knee was acting up during 1.4: Lean Body. Eep! Definitely don’t want to be hurting my knee right before I start my new job as a POP Pilates instructor. That would…suck. Big time.

“Oh I don’t get sick all that often and when I do I usually power through it.” Great! You’re hired! Day of class. “Oh! Did I mention how often I get injured? And that I’m injured now?”

injured

No! I’m not going to get injured! Not now. I will rest my knee and make sure it doesn’t go buggy on me again. It’ll be totally fine. Minor ouchies I can deal with because I know how to modify.

Is it just me or does anyone else hear Mater from Cars yelling “Modify!” whenever they hear or say that word? He and other cars say it in the Cars short film, Tokyo Mater, where Mater goes to Tokyo. The lines are going through my head verbatim now. I think my son and I watched those cartoons a few too many times.

In the mean time, I’m SO SORE! It feels good to feel sore again. The second day was hard to push myself to do because I was so sore and wasn’t used to feeling like that anymore. But then the 3rd and 4th days were easier because I was getting used to it again. It’s too bad about my knee but the rest felt good.

Although I took an extra PIIT28 rest day, I haven’t taken a day off from the #adorethecore challenge. Each day (except for the 3rd day when we were planking) has been difficult. I’ve been doing short videos for the most part. The 1st day has been my favorite so far.

If you haven’t started #adorethecore, you can jump in any time. I don’t know if you’ll win anything, but winning something shouldn’t be your main motivation anyway. It’s all about building up core strength. If you’re already doing it, good job with what you’ve done so far and good luck with the rest of the challenge! What’s been your favorite move so far?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 6, 2016, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge, PIIT28 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I forgot to do my #adorethecore yesterday, so I’m on the Russian Twist today. It hurt! D: Sometimes I feel bad that I can’t slow down and really make my abs *work* the way I want them to. But then I remember they’ve been through stuff and even if I don’t feel like I’m working from a mental standpoint, even going fast is really making the poor things *work.*

    I think I must have scar tissue from the c-section that gets stretched sometimes, ’cause it feels like something’s tugging that didn’t used to. Kind of like when you catch your shirt on something and the seam gives a creak but doesn’t break. >.< Oh well. We shall prevail, my abs and I!

    Not looking forward to tomorrow, though…

    On the other hand, like you said, it feels good to be sore again! ^_^

    • I know what you’re talking about with the scars. I have some as well though not from a c-section and when I first got going with ab work some years back they stretched for the first time and it hurt so much. There were plenty of times when I’d stop not because my abs were tired but because the scars hurt so much. But eventually the stretched out and the pain stopped. Of course when I stopped and started back up again, the scars hurt again. Like a rubberband that’s lost its elasticity. Keep at it and it’ll get better bit by bit! 💪🏻👍🏻

Leave a Reply

