POP Pilates + The Fitness Marshall

Good news! I taught my first demo POP Pilates class the other day and everyone LOVED it! There were 4 people in the class, all familiar at some degree with Pilates so I didn’t have to worry the majority of the time about them doing dangerous things and teaching them the more Cassey-like moves was quite simple. Yay! At one point during the class I laughed and told them they were like my perfect class when I taught to invisible people at home – they knew it all already and did everything perfectly.

Oh there were some instances when they needed reminders on something such as keep your butt down while doing Plank Jacks (that butt does tend to pike up if we’re not careful) and straighten your back out during Earthquake. I like giving those reminders though because it’s also a reminder to me to keep my butt down and my back straight. Especially with Earthquake. I’ll give the reminder merely to remind myself.

A couple of the ladies even expressed interest in becoming instructors themselves. AWESOME!!! Unfortunately, it’s a bit difficult to go all the way to Denver for an all-day training. The drive takes about 7 hours. Not a huge deal if you’re visiting people for the weekend or something but it is if you have kids waiting for you to get your butt back to them and the hotel costs money and all. They were surprised (pleasantly I think) at how cheap the certification is too. It’s not cheap, mind you, but compared to other certifications, it is and there’s a lot of freedom in building the class.

So maybe POP Pilates is leaking further into the Midwest? I told them there was only one other instructor in Nebraska and she was in Lincoln. Maybe we can expand the number of teachers in our areas?  This is just the beginning! We’re taking over the world!!!

raccoon plan

Afterwards, the fitness director talked to me about looking to put some POP classes into the August fitness schedule. Yay! Success! Now we’ll just see if she can manage that, if I can manage not to stick my foot in my mouth or do some other dumb thing, and if people like it enough to want to come on a regular basis.

I was so happy with this first step of success that I wanted to dance at home…except I was still super sore from the dancing I did the day before. Some time ago I found The Fitness Marshall on YouTube. I wanted to like him because his dances looked kinda fun but I didn’t. How to say this without sounding like I’m anti-gay…It was his flamboyantly gay personality. The way he talked and moved before the dancing and even sometimes during the dancing.

It’s not the gay that turned me off. I only describe it as “flamboyantly gay” because I don’t see straight people adopting that style of mannerisms and voice. It’s a kind of girlish way of speaking and acting. Not girly but some kind of off-shoot. I don’t like it so much because it always seems affected to me, like it’s not real. Trust me, there are tons of straight people whose behavior seems completely fake to me as well and I dislike that just as much. But I step back and remind myself that I’m assuming it’s affected and maybe it’s not. Maybe that kind of behavior and those mannerisms etc reflect their personality best. After watching a bunch of his videos, I’m thinking that’s the case with him, that he’s letting his entire personality shine through.

And boy does he shine! Like his own sun. This was something else I had to get used to – his crazy happy personality.

Close friends and family will tell you that I can let loose and get crazy at home, but when I’m outside in public or with people who are super close to me, I clam up. My public personality is more reserved because I’m shy. So when I come across people who are crazy in public, I tend to back away and not want to talk to them. I don’t know why this is. Maybe it’s just too much personality for me or something.

Anyway, The Fitness Marshall also has an excess of personality that made me want to run away. After I got used to him though, I started to really like him. He’s fun and energetic and not afraid to laugh at himself. I really like that. So now I love his channel and have started doing some of his dances. His dance workout to Meghan Trainor’s Me Too was sooooo much fun! When I first heard that song when it came out, I liked the beginning but thought it was too repetitive after that. However, watching and then doing the dance The Fitness Marshall made for it has changed my opinion. Now I absolutely love the song and that’s all I wanted to do after the POP Pilates demo because it totally expressed my thoughts and mood.

If you like dancing and you don’t mind a tornado of a personality, then I suggest you hop on over to his channel on Youtube and check out some of his videos. They’re really fun! I’m not even a good dancer but I was able to follow along pretty easily most of the time. And holy cow! My muscles were sore the next day!

Here’s his dance for Me Too by Meghan Trainor…

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on July 23, 2016, in Fitness, Personal, POP Pilates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

