POP Pilates News

Not much going on right now. I had a meeting about teaching POP Pilates with the fitness director at my local Y. Yay for my first interview meeting thingie! It seemed to go well. The major obstacle in my way right now is the lack of POP life in this area. People here don’t really know about it, they’ve never heard of it. So if there aren’t enough people interested in the class, there’s no reason to take me on as a teacher.

no quit no fail

I offered to give some demos of course to show people what it’s like. It’s hard when somebody asks you “If people like this will they like that?” I mean, how do I answer that? I like Zumba, POP Pilates, Pilates, Yoga, and classes that incorporate cardio and strength training together. Does my liking yoga mean I won’t like Zumba? Everyone’s too different to really be able to tell.

A lot of people on IG like yoga and Pilates and a lot of those people are POPsters (POP Pilates fans), but that doesn’t mean everyone who does yoga and Pilates will like POP Pilates. Although I love yoga, POP Pilates and PIIT28 (go to my PIIT28 page for more info on what that is), I don’t like PiYo…at all. I took only one class to know for certain that I didn’t like it. It was so fast-paced and we had to go through the movements so quickly that I had no time to get and keep proper form. Because of that I ended up hurting my shoulder.

I wish I could have assured the director that people would love it, but I really just have no assurance of that especially after she told me that they had tried a Pilates class during the lunch hour once and it had tanked. Nobody liked it and that surprised her. Surprises me too actually.

Everywhere you go people are¬†different and it could be that the people here in Hastings, NE don’t care for this style of workout. I can’t assure her that people will like it because everyone has different tastes. Boy I wish I could though. All I could tell her was that the class has taken off on the East and West coasts and in Texas. That it’s crazy popular in those places and that its popularity is rapidly growing in CO as well. It usually attracts a good number of students.

But will it attract them here?

I don’t know. Hopefully, yes.

I want so much to fill in this class announcement…

Insta_Banner

If you live in Hastings, NE or thereabouts and are members of the Y in Grand Island or Hastings, tell the directors etc that you want POP Pilates classes there! You want them and I want to teach them!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on June 23, 2016, in Personal, POP Pilates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

