Change of Plans

Oh boy. That was not fun. I was doing fine with my meal plan and my exercise for 2 days last week before I started to feel not so good. Queasy. I thought a couple days of rest would set me to rights but it didn’t. I just got worse. Some sort of stomach bug that had my head in the toilet when I could no longer stand it. It lasted 3-4 days. I’m fine now.

I only got 2 days in of PIIT28. That sucks! Why bother continuing with my original plan? The month is almost half gone. And there are less than 2 weeks before my POP Pilates training class. Everyone in the class is assigned a track to teach. I didn’t know this when I signed up, but I wanted to be as prepared as possible so I’ve been practicing all of the tracks that we’ll be tested on in our demo video for our certification.

Unfortunately, I was concentrating mainly on PIIT28 in March and, after a while, didn’t put any effort into POP Pilates. I was too physically tired because the stronger I got from PIIT28, the more effort I put into it so my muscles just wanted to die every day. My knees also began to act up again in the last week or so so I had to ice them at various intervals throughout the day after each workout.

pop-pilates-watercolor-logo

We were assigned our POP4 track on Thursday and guess which one I got?

The cardio track.

Better still, it’s cardio that would normally seriously kick my butt because it’s all in plank. Before PIIT28, those were the hardest moves for me because my whole body works super hard instead of my legs taking the brunt of the exercise. Because of PIIT28 I can now do them. Maybe I’ll even be able to talk while I do them. HA! Yeah right.

No, I’ll be okay with that. It’s not like it’ll be plank jacks the whole time.

Thankfully the choreo isn’t too hard or anything. It was complicated when I first saw it because it’s mostly 2 combinations but I got the hang of it and I have practiced it…once.

no quit

Cardio has always made me feel self conscious. I’m all right at it. I don’t suck at it. But I get winded really quickly. It doesn’t matter if my legs can carry me on and I can keep going. I breathe so heavily and it’s so difficult for me to speak during these periods. I had the same problem before when I was first demoing for a general group fitness instructor certification and I didn’t want to use a microphone because everyone would hear me breathing super hard and they would think less of me.

I’m pretty much over this fear. I think. I haven’t faced it or anything, but it no longer sends me into panic attacks when I think about it. Actually, after PIIT28, I feel pretty confident that I can do it. And POPsters are just SO supportive! I know everyone in class will be super awesome.

But here’s where the difficulty lies – practicing for my POP class while continuing with PIIT28. I don’t want to ditch PIIT28 because I’ve gained so much muscle and endurance doing it. But I can’t do it every day and still have energy to practice POP4 and I NEED to have that cardio track memorized perfectly, physically and mentally, to teach it in class. Of course, continuing with PIIT28 would give me more muscle and endurance to allow me to better perform the POP4 tracks in class.

Here’s what I’m going to do: I’ll alternate POP4 and PIIT28 every other day. So today I’ll practice POP4 with an emphasis on my cardio track and tomorrow I’ll do PIIT28. I’ll practice the verbal cues on the PIIT28 days while focusing on the physical movements on the POP4 days. And I’ll make sure to somehow complement what I’m practicing each day so I don’t overwork my muscles by not letting them rest.

Sounds like a plan! Wish me luck!

Oh yeah. And obviously my eating for the 28 Day Reset has not been the best considering I spent half the time unable to eat. Period. My sodium intake has been enormously high due to the chicken broth I had. Boy did it calm my stomach though. If I had to go back and do it again, I’d have started the chicken broth regime earlier. Nasty high sodium content but totally worth it.

Totally. Worth. It.

chicken-broth-soup

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 11, 2016, in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad to hear you are fine now Katie! I love Cassey too! Yes, the PIIT 28 sure improves our stamina! It’s really cool you are training to be a POP pilates instructor! I would love to be one one day!

Leave a Reply

