Round 1 Measurements + 28 Day Reset Meal Plan

Here are my final measurements and before/after pics so we can all see the physical differences. Keep in mind that this is WITHOUT the 28 Day Reset meal plan. When I try to change both my eating and my exercise habits, I fail with everything so I opted for the exercise. My diet was junk.

Measurements (March 1st / April 3rd)

  • Bicep: L 12″, R 12.5″ / L 12.25″, R 12.75″ (+)
  • Bust: 40″ / 40″
  • Chest: 32.5″ / 33″ (+)
  • Waist: 35.5″ / 35.5″
  • Hips: 45″ / 44.75″ (-.25″)
  • Thigh: L 23.75″, R 23.5″ / LR 24″ (+)

I didn’t weigh myself in the beginning, but I’ve gained several pounds. No, it’s not muscle. My weight had held consistently at 188lbs the last couple months (whenever I remembered to check it that is, which wasn’t all that often) and only rose in the last couple of days when I was eating lots of salty foods along with dairy and gluten. So this is water retention and bloating. I’ll make sure to weigh myself at the start of Round 2.

March 1 - April 3 eating junk

March 1 - April 3 every view eating junk

Disappointing, isn’t it? It is for me. This is proof that you can’t reach your fitness/health goals with exercise alone. You need a good diet as well if you want to see the 6 pack you killed yourself to get (if indeed you were working for that). I worked my butt off in this program and I made excellent physical progress but you can’t see it because I ate junk.

This doesn’t include the awesome progress I made inside as well. I wrote a post before about the ways I’ve changed that don’t include my physical appearance that make me super happy and super proud – Different Kinds of Progress. I’ve already talked about that. This time I’m only talking about the physical changes.

You can call me vain and shallow if you want. You can say I’m a victim of cultural pressure to look “pretty” or “skinny.” It doesn’t matter. I’ve never liked the fat on me. I don’t mind having fat, but I currently have too much of it and that does not make me happy.

I am overweight and my BMI is not in the healthy range. I don’t understand why people don’t get this.

I’m not putting myself down, I’m stating a medical fact.

I’m not being swayed by cultural influence and pressure. I’m not suffering from self-hate. Yes, I’m fat. I accept that. Just because I call myself fat doesn’t mean I hate myself. Just because I want to change doesn’t mean I hate myself. The fat is not part of me. It just happens to be on me.

Wanting to improve myself doesn’t mean I hate myself. It actually means I love myself enough to want to be the best I can be.

Penguins are super cute and I love them. That doesn’t mean I want to waddle like one (although I do walk like this after pretty much every PIIT28 workout, especially if it’s Leg Day).

waddling penguins

With that in mind I’m going to give myself the biggest challenge I can – I’m going to change my diet. I don’t mean that I’m going to go on a diet. Oh goodness no. That’s completely different. I’m going to change my eating habits.

I eat junk now. Chili cheese conies, pizza, nachos, etc. Junk. I need to be eating fruits and veggies. Other people have noticed awesome changes in their body, inside and out, doing Cassey Ho’s 28 Day Reset. I know from experience that eating clean like this (or at least cleaner in my case) has awesome effects on the body.

When I ate healthier, I felt clean and energetic and healthy and happy. After eating junk again for the longest time, I always feel bloated and gross. I can easily win a burping and farting contest with my dad because I’m always so full of gas from my food now. My tongue is happy because it grew up on this stuff, but I know it can be happy again on healthy food.

Seriously, this is going to be harder for me than exercising. I love food and I love to eat. Food has always been my go to for everything. Celebration, boredom, depression. Everything. And I’ve eaten mostly junk since childhood. I’ve always been a porky piggy. Now I want to be a healthy piggy.

Wish me luck with that! I’ll need it.

Desperately.

Time for the 28 Day Reset.

Click the above picture to sign up and get The 28 Day Reset

Click the above picture to sign up and get The 28 Day Reset

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 3, 2016, in 28 Day Reset, Personal, PIIT28 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

