It’s the PIITs of March!

A new month has finally arrived and you know what that means? A new challenge! YAY! I’ve been looking forward to this since about mid-last week. Except after I signed up, I pushed myself too hard and my knees swelled up like water balloons. Dang it! Other than being uncomfortable, they’re weak and I know if I push them harder they’ll both get injured. Can’t have that happening. Not now! (Not ever really.)

Now what on earth am I talking about? PIITs of March? Sounds nasty. I’m super excited about it though so I thought I’d blog about it to tell you what PIIT28 is and why you should join me in doing it. I know it’s short notice, but there’s still time to sign up if you wanted to join. And if you miss the March 1st starting date, that’s okay too. You won’t get a free shirt, but really, what does that mean? Free things are cool but we’re not in this for free stuff. We’re in this for our bodies!

PIIT28 1.0PIIT28 1.0

What is it?

  • P – Pilates
  • I – Intense
  • I – Interval
  • T – Training
  • 28 – 28 Days

PIIT28 1.0 is the newest workout creation from Cassey Ho. You may have seen her PIIT videos on Youtube since the start of the new year (2016)…

As usual, she gave us 5 videos to focus on every part of our body. PIIT28 1.0 is the same but different. It’s a 28-day challenge that’ll have us solely doing PIIT workouts.

1 workout video done 4 times for a total of 28:40 minutes.

That’s it. Just 28 minutes and 40 seconds and you’re done exercising for the whole day.

If you’re not sure you’ll like PIIT workouts, click on one of the links above for her youtube PIIT videos and try one. If you like that, you’re going to like this.

PIIT workouts alternate strengthening and cardio moves for an unbelievably intense workout. If you’re the type of person who hates cardio for whatever reason, this is a really good set-up for you because you’re sticking your cardio in amongst your strengthening exercises instead of having to do a separate workout solely for cardio. Likewise, if you don’t like strength training, you don’t need to do another workout purely for that.

Why PIIT28 1.0 works:

By combining cardio and strength training together, you burn more calories and you get a better workout in a shorter amount of time. This kind of format revs up your metabolism so you’ll also be burning calories after the workout is complete. Just think of it: burning calories doing nothing all because you crushed a 28:40-minute workout earlier in the day.

That’s awesome. Isn’t that awesome? I think that’s awesome.

When I was training to be a group fitness instructor several years back, I used a format very similar to this. It was based on circuits and HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training). I did a bunch of strengthening moves with shorter bouts of cardio mixed in for a 30-minute workout. I burned so many calories in a single 30-minute session. Way more than if I did strength training and cardio separately. And I got a much better workout. After every session, my legs were so wobbly and there were days when it was difficult to hold onto the steering wheel to drive home.

Jillian Michaels promotes the same kind of workout with her 30-Day Shred. I saw such amazing results when I did her video. I was slimmer and fitter than I ever had been before or since.

What you might not be aware of is that muscle burns calories so the more muscle mass you have, the more calories you burn the entire day.

Cardio by itself doesn’t make much muscle. It burns calories and it burns fat and it does make muscle, yeah, but it can also burn through muscle after a point. You want muscle, you strength train. You do lunges, you lift weights, etc. That’s the real muscle-maker right there. But that doesn’t burn a whole lot of calories. If you put the two together though, you’ll keep your body guessing and working hard and that’s when you burn the most amount of calories and gain the most amount of muscles.

I could get technical and scientific but I won’t because who wants to hear a huge amount of scientific jargon? And I don’t have my book to remind me of the scientific words. But I can tell you from experience that this sort of exercise regime works.

Now, have I done this one in particular? No, I haven’t. I’m starting on March 1st along with the rest of the world because that’s its premier date. But I’ve done Cassey’s Youtube PIIT videos before and they have rocked my body. The set-up is also very similar, as I have said, to other exercise plans I’ve done and the results have always been awesome.

The only differences I see are:

  • the amount of time for each move and resting period
  • using Pilates moves for the strengthening portions

That’s it really. Every set-up like this is different but they’re all pretty much the same. What makes me like one over the other is the kind of moves it incorporates and the time length for each move. Also, the instructor is very important.

Why I like this program over another:

  • I love Cassey Ho and she’s the instructor
  • I love Cassey’s kind of Pilates
  • I only have to do a move for 45 seconds before I get to rest for 10 seconds
  • The POPster group is wonderfully supportive and friendly
  • It makes me happy

The 28 Day Reset:

Cassey’s also made a meal plan called The 28 Day Reset, intended to complement the workout program, to cut out certain foods such as dairy, gluten, soy, eggs, etc. There are other meal plans out there that do the same. It allows you to find out what kinds of foods your body doesn’t like.

For example: I used the Virgin Diet to cut out high allergen foods awhile back and found I had issues with dairy, gluten, eggs, and sometimes soy. When I keep these things out of my diet, I feel great. When I put them into my diet, different things can happen such as: migraines, acne, bloating, gas, and vomiting.

This is a good thing to know about your body, but it’s not for everyone I think. Cutting foods out of your daily diet can lead to severe crankiness because some things we put in foods, such as sugar, are addictive. What happens when you refuse coffee to a coffee addict? They’ll likely bite your head off.

I’m not going to go into detail on The 28 Day Reset because I don’t intend to follow it. I did the Virgin Diet once before and once was enough for me. I could really do with cutting back on sugar again and completely wiping gluten and dairy from my life, but that would be insanely difficult where I live right now so I’m going to continue with the small changes I’m endeavoring to incorporate into my eating habits.

And now for the part that will make you pause. I’ve saved it for the end because I didn’t want to scare you off before you had learned about PIIT28 and what it can do for you.

How much does it cost?

Unlike Cassey’s POP Pilates brand and the 5 PIIT videos she’s posted on Youtube, this is not free. I know that’s going to turn a lot of people off despite what they’ve just read, but please hear me out.

If you buy the PIIT28 1.0 program, it costs $39 (US currency). No tax. Just an uneven $39. If you buy The 28 Day Reset with it (together they’re called the PIIT Power Pack), you save $19 and spend $89. Harsh, I know. But you don’t have to get the meal plan if you don’t want to. On the other hand, if you’re interested only in changing your eating, you don’t have to get the exercise portion. If you do that, you’ll spend $69 for the meal plan itself.

Cost Recap:

  • PIIT28 1.0 – $39
  • The 28 Day Reset – $69
  • PIIT Power Pack – $89 ($19 savings)

What you get when you buy PIIT28 1.0:

  • PIIT28 Full 28 Day Program E-book (instant download)
  • PIIT28 Workout Calendar
  • #PIITstagram Challenge Calendar
  • 11 expertly filmed follow-along workout videos (not available anywhere else)
  • 11 beautifully photographed printable workouts
  • 60 unique exercises to keep your muscles shocked and to keep you from getting bored
  • 77 animated GIFs that you can reference when you want to exercise without watching the videos
  • Lifetime membership to the PIIT28 Portal
  • BONUS – The PIIT28 GET FLEXY Supplemental Guide which includes your daily Warm Up and Flexibility Training routines

What you get when you buy The 28 Day Reset:

  • Blogilates 28 Day Reset Nutrition Guide E-book (instant download)
  • 28 Day Reset Meal Plan (4 weeks)
  • 28 Day Reset Grocery Lists (4 weeks)
  • 150+ unique clean-eating Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and Snack recipes to create your own unique mix ‘n match meal plans based on your body’s needs for the next 8 weeks and beyond
  • 8 fill-in Meal Planning Calendars
  • 8 fill-in Grocery Lists
  • Mix ‘n Match Protein, Fat, and Carb Chart (for recipe substitutions)
  • 100+ pages of full color, taste bud tantalizing food photography
  • Lifetime Membership to The 28 Day Reset Foodie Forum
  • Vegan Plan is also available

That’s a lot of stuff! And, remember, for a one time fee you get a lifetime of membership and access to all of this.

Why don’t you try it out with me? We can be sore together.

If you really aren’t sure right now or you don’t have the money, you can stick with the PIIT videos available on Youtube. Perhaps doing those will change your mind or keep you tided over till you can afford it. It’s a good investment if you like this sort of thing and if you put the effort into it. As always, you’ll only see results when you work for them.

If you’re totally interested and want to sign up right now, the pictures below will link you over to where you can buy the programs.

PIIT28 1.0 Program

Click on the picture above to sign up and get PIIT28 1.0

Click the above picture to sign up and get The 28 Day Reset

Click on the picture above to sign up and get The 28 Day Reset

I hope to see you getting stronger and healthier with me soon!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 28, 2016, in Fitness, PIIT28 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. looks like a great programme! 🙂 Hope you had a great weekend! http://www.tifness.com/

    • Weekend was great! Nice and relaxing. Legs feel great too. So relieved. I was afraid I wouldn’t be good to go by March 1st but it looks like everything will be fine.

      Program should a blast if you’re interested now or sometime later. POPsters are pretty friendly and supportive. 🙂

      • ooh sounds like a great community to e part of 🙂 i’ll look into it! so you starting the programme this month? Oh and btw I just made a facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/tifness/?fref=ts it would mean so much to me if you check it out and tell me what you think! thank you! 🙂 xx

      • I’m starting today! Soooo excited!! 😀 There’s a live workout on Cassey’s Blogilates FB page this morning 10am pst (California time) and I’m super worried I won’t be able to find it when the time comes because I’ve never done anything live on FB before. Not sure how to pass the time. ^_^ lol

        Sure! I’ll check it out. Right now in fact because I’m super nervous and want to fill the time. 😉

      • oh wow! sounds so exciting! ok so you have probably already done the live blogilates class so how did it go? was it as nerve wracking as you expected ?! sounds exciting ^^ and thanks for your comment! oh and btw I just made a facebook page! it would mean so much to me if you check it out and tell me what you think? thanks sooo much! ❤ https://www.facebook.com/tifness/?fref=ts

      • The workout wasn’t nerve wracking. It was wonderfully familiar and “comfortable.” Not knowing if I’d be able to access the live video was nerve wracking because I wasn’t sure of a lot of things. I missed perhaps the first minute or two but nothing important. I had to modify two moves but that’s normal. It was a great workout! I’m looking forward to tomorrow. 😀

        I checked out your FB page. It was cool. I found your website through it actually and that was even cooler. I love food! And food that won’t make me feel icky is even better!! ^_^

      • ahh I see, that’s good to hear! ahh yes, it’s good to modify the moves if you feel it doesn’t work right, too hard or too easy, ect. that’s great that you’re looking forward to the next workout! 🙂 it’s great to find a workout programme you enjoy, so you can definitely stick to it and see results! which is of course a great part of working out 😉 aw thank you! yes I saw your comment! thanks so much for your support lovely! xx

  2. No PIITs for me, but I’m going to try to actually do the WHOLE beginner’s calendar in the same time frame. My abs are already crying.

    Kick some butt!

    • Good luck! I know you can do it! It’s okay if you take however many breaks as you need and it’s okay if you break up the videos like 1 video in the morning, another in the afternoon, another at night… The work is still getting done so it still counts! Good luck! 😀

  3. Katie great review do you have to have a smart phone to do the videos, I notice on the sample videos she has some kind of countdown timer going on? Cheers very excited about this.

    • The timer she’s using is on her Blogilates app. It’s available on smart phones and on iPads. I’m not sure how many different kinds of tablets there are out there or how many are compatible with that app. I have an iPad and an iPhone so I know it works on those. However! You don’t “need” that to do the challenge. All you really need is a computer because the PIIT28 Portal is on the internet. When you sign up, you get access to the portal and you choose your sign in name and password. Then you can download the program you got, whether it be the PIIT28 1.0 or The 28 Day Reset or both as an e-book. In that e-book you get all the stuff I mentioned in the post so you can follow along each day even if you didn’t have wifi. If you don’t have a smartphone or compatible tablet, you can download the file onto your computer as a PDF file. It won’t have the videos in it but it will have pictures and written tutorials for each move and directions on what you’re supposed to do that day as well as everything else that’s included in the e-book. When you go to the online Portal, Cassey will post the videos that you can follow along with each day.

      All in all, if you only have a computer, you’ll still be able to get and do everything that everyone else buying the programs can do. A lot of people like having hard copies so you may find it helpful to print everything out so you have it all on hand even when you’re away from the computer.

      The Blogilates app is an extra thing that has been around a long time before this and is free. The timer, on the other hand, was an added feature Cassey made for the app and costs $1.99. It’s a one-time fee and the timer can be super handy and convenient if you’re cool with that sort of thing. You can’t save previously made workouts yet so there’s that bummer. I’ve used it to make my own workouts and to set up some of Cassey’s videos for when I’m not in wifi areas. I’ve tried others but they get complicated and they’re still not very helpful. This one is simple and useful so it’s my go-to. 😉

      I hope this helped! If you have any more questions, don’t hesitate to ask. 🙂 Hope you join and enjoy it with us!

  4. Hello! Do you have to work out the 28 days in a row? No rest days? I thought HIIT was only intented for 3-4 times a week.

    • Good questions! No, you wouldn’t be working out a full 28 days in a row with no break. Every 7th day you get a rest except for the 1st week when the 6th day is the rest day. Obviously, this is still pretty different from a normal HIIT schedule. You’re right that HIIT workouts are intended for 3-4 days a week for people whose fitness levels are moderate to advanced. I believe for beginners it’s 2-3 days a week because their bodies aren’t used to getting beat up. This, however, isn’t quite HIIT. It’s similar but the intensity is lower and half the moves are Pilates instead of cardio.

      What happens in HIIT is basically whatever exercise you’re doing you’re pushing yourself to the equivalent of a sprint. So you sprint for a time and then rest with a lower intensity for a time before giving it your all again. It’s total cardio.

      PIIT, however, is done with bouts of cardio followed by an extra rest before moving on to strength training Pilates moves. For example:
      Tuck Jumps – 45 sec, Rest – 15 sec, Single Leg Squats – 45 sec, Rest – 15 sec, Jumping Lunges – 45 sec, Rest – 15 sec

      You see how you’re getting a lot more of a “rest” than you would in a HIIT workout? Your body isn’t resting but by doing a strength training move, your heart rate is able to drop a lot faster than if you were sprinting, then jogging/walking, sprinting etc. Your entire body isn’t getting pushed as hard as it would in a HIIT workout (that could be arguable).

      Another thing is that you’re not doing the same thing two days in a row. One day has moves that focus on the lower body while the next day is upper body. Your whole body is getting worked every day because that is cardio and Pilates for you, but on upper body days your arms will die and on lower body days your legs will die, allowing your arms to have a “break.”

      What I’m trying to say with the big long explanation is that PIIT isn’t as high in intensity as HIIT workouts are so you can do them more often. That being said, everyone should go at their own pace and do it as often as their bodies say it’s okay for them to do. If that doesn’t match the calendar, that’s fine. Everything can also be modified to fit everyone’s fitness level to help prevent injuries.

      Does that help?

      • Thanks a lot for this thorough response! I get the point now. I’ll still wait to see the first results and impressions in social media by the end of the month and then I’ll probably jump in too! Thank you!!

      • No problem! If you’re interested, people are posting their 2-week progress pics on IG now. 🙂 #PIIT28 should bring them up (along with all the other stuff we post for the IG part of the challenge).

  5. Is it the same 11 videos for the entire 28 days?

  6. Aniela C. Sevilla

    Hi, so If I buy only the workout PIIT 28 I’m going to get the same videos of PIIT she posted on Youtube, or have different videos?

    • The videos on YouTube are like freebie samples that she gave everyone so they could see what PIIT28 would be like. The videos you get in the program are the same concept but the moves are different. There aren’t many repeating moves either so your body keeps guessing and working hard throughout the whole month. For Round 2 starting April 1st, Cassey will be adding 2 more videos so you should get those as well, but they’re not meant to be added in till the 2nd month. They’re supposed to make everything harder. Not sure exactly what they’ll be like as they’re not out yet.

      • Aniela C. Sevilla

        Thank you Katie! Did you got the reset plan? Because I’m hesitating to purchased the reset plan, I’m very busy everyday and sometimes the recipes are hard to follow I tried many recepies from cassey 😦

      • I did not because I don’t have full control over my kitchen. I can buy my own food all I want but then there’s junk that others have bought sitting there staring at me whispering, “You’re hungry. So hungry. Eat me. Eeeeaaaaat meeeee.” And then I do because it’s so easy. I’ll be moving in a couple months and I’ll once more have full control of my kitchen. When that happens I may get the meal plan. I’ve taken out high allergen foods before and it is super difficult if you’re used to eating a lot of that stuff like sugar. Sugar is highly addictive. The main reason I’d get the meal plan is for the meal ideas. I bought Cassey’s book when it came out and I really liked some of those meals. The super simple ones. 😉 There are people on Instagram who are posting pics and stuff of some of the meals. They look pretty good. Sorry I couldn’t help more on the meal plan. 😦

  7. I was wondering if piit28 was vegetarian friendly?

    • There’s a vegan-friendly meal plan if that helps? I’m not all that familiar with the differences between vegan and vegetarian. 🙁

    • I didn’t get either meal plan for various reasons but I asked about it. A certified nutritionist helped create the meal plan instead of Cassey just making dishes that may or may not be healthy as she’s not a dietitian or nutritionist or anything. I had been worried but not after talking with the nutritionist.

  8. yay great article 😀 i just started this week with piit28 and can´t wait for the results *.*

Leave a Reply

