4th Week of January

Last week of January! Did you work it? I totally crushed this week.

You’ll notice I separated some of my cardio and strength training this week. I don’t usually like to do this but it’s annoying breaking up biking/running/walking with strength training all the time. A lot of times I like pure cardio and pure strength training.

I get a better workout with circuits and intervals but sometimes it’s not about the better workout. Sometimes it’s just about you and how you feel during your workout. So if you really get into the groove running a constant pace so you can zone out and enjoy yourself, go for it. Every single workout can’t be about pushing yourself to do your best and burn the most calories. Once in a while forget the calorie burn and just go.

The Ultimate 2016 Ab Workout

The Ultimate 2016 Ab Workout

1/25/16 Cardio, Upper Body, Core:

After letting my knees rest one last day, I “crawled” back into my cardio.

equipment needed: recumbent bike, internet connection for Youtube or the Blogilates app

Recumbent Bike: 6.57 miles 31:28 min

Upper Body:

Core:

Inner Thigh Lift

8-min Bikini Thighs Workout

1/26/16 Lower Body:

In order to give my knees a break, I focused on my butt and thighs. Ouch.

equipment needed: internet connection for Youtube or the Blogilates app

Lower Body:

parachuter pulse

Lean & Toned Arms

1/27/16 Cardio, Upper Body, Core:

equipment needed: recumbent bike, internet connection for Youtube or the Blogilates app

Recumbent Bike: 5.9 miles 26:30 min

Upper Body:

Core:

OMG. I kicked my own butt today. That PIIT workout incorporates a ton of cardio. Practically every move has cardio mixed in. Cassey says to do 4 rounds if that’s all you’re doing, but it wasn’t all I was doing so I only did 2 rounds. And then Arms on Fire?? What was I thinking?!

1/28/16 Rest:

Oops! Missed this one. My thoughts during the day: “I’ll do it after this. I’ll do it after that. I’ll do it before bed. Ah screw it. I’ll work harder tomorrow.”

Bikini Dance

Spring Fling 1: Toning Workout

1/29/16 Total Body:

equipment needed: internet connection for Youtube or the Blogilates app

Total Body:

Cardio:

Stretching: 10 min

zumba-loveMan. I used to be able to do hour long Zumba classes and now I’m huffing and puffing after just 7 minutes of energetic dancing. In my defense, my body was already tired by that point but still. Bummer.

I set my workouts up as cardio, toning, cardio, toning, cardio, stretch. That 2nd Spring Fling nearly killed my legs. Jeez! I had to take a break after it to pick my son up from the bus and my butt and thighs were shaking and wobbling so badly. My goodness! Then I came back inside and struggled on with the last two videos. Yeah, I died. Or I wish I had anyway.

The end of the month is fast approaching. How’d you do? Considering it’s my first month of going hard and the fact that I strained my knees that 3rd week, I think I did pretty well. My eating started off well but degraded pretty quickly. We’ll see in a couple days how far that set me back. Even if my measurements aren’t as good as I’d hoped, I feel stronger and that’s what really matters.

The scale is not your friend. Neither is the tape measure if you’re bloated for whatever reason.

e11b5d46b86123627ce02636e645de57

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 29, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I really need to start adding in some strength exercises again. My knees may be able to handle (very) short bursts of jogging (surprisingly), but there’s a window over the kitchen sink that I can never manage to close. My shoulders are apparently without any kind of strength at all. 😦 Are there gentler arm vids you really like and would recommend for the pathetic re-beginner? I wanted to do Cassey’s Beginner Calendar (and actually finish it for once), but the floor here is just too darn hard for my hips and pelvis and pretty much anything that has to support any kind of weight on it.

    • I’ll need to look through the videos because there are lots I haven’t done (can you believe how many she has??), but off-hand I’d say the best arm video for you would be the 6 Minutes to Sexy Arms. You put absolutely no weight on any part of your body (so no laying down on the hard, ouchy floor). But it’s still a super hard video. Because it’s super short, it’s super hard. So hard that when I tried to power through it when I was stronger, I almost threw up. My shoulders have always been pretty weak, especially after tearing that rotator cuff so it may not kill other people like it does me, but even Cassey squealed in video about how difficult it was. The good thing is that there are no weights – just your arms, but you keep your arms up and moving the whole 6 minutes and, I don’t know about you, but my arms are heavy.

      Don’t be put off by my description because you can always make it easier. I suggest you take frequent breaks and go at a slower pace. Rub your arms and shoulders during those breaks and, as days go by and your shoulders get stronger, try to take fewer breaks. You’ll know by how your arms feel how many breaks you should take. The two best things about this video is that there are no weights and you can sit in a chair or on the bed or you can stand and move around to take your mind off what your arms are feeling.

      Without looking around, this would be my first suggestion for the ultimate best POP Pilates video for your shoulders. I’ll look around though and get back to you again with others because I know there are others that would be good, just not AS good.

      Do you have a yoga mat? Or a sleeping bag? You can fold them up for extra padding on the floor. It may help. Or not. My pelvis hates hard floors too. Not as much as yours though so the padding not be enough.

      • I do have a mat, and it doesn’t help. :/ Not for my pelvis, anyway. It works for the rest of me, but my poor, screwed up pelvis is…well, screwed up! 😉

        Thanks for the suggestion! I will dive into it tonight.

  1. Pingback: 4th Week of January | FitHealthySoul

Leave a Reply

