Favorite Exercise Video of the Week

I was trying to insert the workout videos I did each week in my posts so people didn’t have to go searching for them. How convenient that the videos were right there in the post, you know? That worked because I only did perhaps one video the whole week while the rest of my workouts were of my own making.

That doesn’t exactly work this week though as pretty much all of my workouts (minus some cardio) are Blogilates videos. It seems a bit ridiculous to insert 10+ videos in one post. So I’ve decided to link the titles to Cassey’s Youtube (to the exact video of course) and devote a separate post to a single workout.

Since I’m doing several videos every day this week (they’re all pretty short), I’ll pick a favorite (that I haven’t put up before) from the first half of the week.

And the winner is…

Glutes & Thighs Trimdown!

glutes&thighs trimdown

It was a hard choice because the upper body workouts I did seriously worked my shoulders and back and that was awesome, but my shoulders are super tense lately and those workouts didn’t help to alleviate those painful knots. In fact, I do believe they might have made the problem worse (the pain not knots) because now my shoulders ache from soreness as well as from being too tight.

I also have a very limited amount of space for my exercises and my arm span is longer than the space so I either have to keep my elbows bent, which feels like cheating, or continually hit stuff with one arm.

Work with what we have though, right?

The Glutes & Thighs Trimdown video was awesome! Between the single leg circles and the single leg bridges, my thighs and butt burned! The sideways scissors completed the thigh killing while the plank jacks at the end added a bit of cardio that would’ve been more helpful had I done the video the appropriate number of times.

Don’t be deceived by the video’s length – the workout is only 9 minutes. Cassey says to do it 4 times total for an entire lower body workout, but since I was doing other butt and thigh videos as well, I only did it once. Even once made me burn though.

burn

Cassey gives 7 moves back-to-back and explains how to do them before and during each exercise. She keeps you from noticing the pain by keeping up a steady flow of chatter. Sometimes it helps and sometimes it doesn’t. It helps most when you haven’t seen the video before so everything she says and does is brand new. There are times, however, when I want to kill her despite the steady flow of chatter because the workout is so hard. Actually, at those times, I may want to kill her because of her chatter (and difficulty of the workout). She’s just so cheerful! When I’m dying during the workout, I want to scream and throttle the perkiness right out of her. And then I finish and lay exhausted on the ground while giving her a feeble thumbs up and an almost dead “yay.”

If I didn’t love it, I wouldn’t do it. And if I didn’t love her, she wouldn’t be my go-to trainer.

cassey love

Glutes & Thighs Trimdown Moves:PicCollage

  • Squats
  • Bridges
  • Single Leg Bridges
  • Single Leg Circles
  • Sideways Scissors
  • Dancing Animal
  • Plank Jack

My favorite move is the Dancing Animal. It’s awesome despite my having to look at the gravity-enhanced cellulite that hides (usually hides) in my thighs. Not a pretty picture. It doesn’t make me happy to see that.

Without further ado, here’s Cassey Ho’s Glutes & Thighs Trimdown!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 27, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

