3rd Week of January

1/18/16: Skipped

oops i did it again

1/19/16 PIIT & Snow Shoveling:

Cassey’s first brand new PIIT workout! It’s called Booty PIIT. I did 2 rounds of this in order to hit both legs equally. This kicked my butt! My butt and legs were so sore the next day. It was so much fun though! Took 14 minutes to go through the video twice.

I started the day off with shoveling snow for about 20 minutes. Then the snow came out halfway through the day and melted everything. Lovely. Actually, it was way too bright for the rest of the day and it gave me a nasty headache.

1/20/16 Cardio:

I ran! OMG! This was the first time I’ve been out running since early last summer (2015). It was super difficult and I’m pretty much back to where I was when I first started running – unable to run even 1/2 a mile. But that’s okay. We all have to start or restart somewhere. I was able to jog/walk for 3 miles! That at least is better than I was when I was first starting. So at least I haven’t lost my long-term endurance.

It felt good to experience “rungry” side effects again. I was SO hungry! I was good about my snack but still hungry. Then not so good about dinner and I was still hungry. Yes, I was a hungry hungry hippo.

hungryhungryhipposcartoon

Rather than eating more though, I drank water and waited till my stomach caught up with the food and realized it wasn’t as hungry as it thought it was.

1/21/16 Rest:

OMG. How effing stupid can one person be??!! At the time of yesterday’s run, I felt fine. Tired but good. Hours later my muscles had completely cooled off and stiffen into one giant painful mess. There was a nerve in or near my hip flexor that sent nasty pain shooting through my groin so my legs started to crumple (like when I was in my last month of pregnancy and it would feel as if my son was sitting on my leg nerves so my legs would crumple).

Add to that the tendons or ligaments in the back of my right knee had decided that they wouldn’t work anymore so I had to keep icing the back of my knee and resting so I could eventually walk again with a semi-straight leg. The knee cap itself was not happy with me but that’s a preexisting injury from years back that will probably never go away so I wasn’t surprised about that one.

I’m broken.

brokenLeg

1/22/16 Cardio:

I iced the back of my right knee most of the morning and would lightly stretch it out by bending and unbending the leg to keep it from stiffening back up. By lunch both legs felt completely fine.

194 Bha - RICE Treatment_rev

really wanted to go for another run and both of my legs felt great so I got my Zombie Run and Charity apps ready and headed out. I’m not entirely stupid (or so I thought). I figured I’d walk unless the zombies were chasing me and then I’d jog.

Luckily I didn’t have the zombie app set up right so no zombies chased me. I was seriously disappointed but I say I was lucky because the back of my LEFT knee was then having problems.

I wanted to rest it, but I was a mile from my car. I should’ve paused the apps and sat down till the leg felt better, but I thought it was another injury and that it wasn’t going to feel better. So I stuck it out and concentrated on not limping. I stretched as well as I could afterwards and then drove home. By the time I got home, both legs felt totally fine.

wth?

I iced the backs of the knees and rested while watching The Martian (awesome!).

So what have I done to the backs of my knees? That is the question. I mean, I was just walking! And not fast either. It was the most boring walk ever. After some googling, I believe I’ve strained the tendons in both knees. Story of my life. It should take at least 7 days to heal.

How boring.

This isn’t the first time this has happened but it is the first time in a long time. I’ll stick to the recumbent bike for cardio next week. This would be boring but I have some apps I want to try out with it so I’m looking forward to it.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 24, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

