2nd Week of January

Another week is over and what a week it’s been. Good and bad, personal and non-personal. But I’m only going to go into the fitness part of it. It’s my weekly workout update! I post these for my own enjoyment, as a way to be held accountable, and for anyone who wants to share in the torture. These workouts aren’t for everyone and I’m not responsible if someone tries one of them and gets hurt or doesn’t get results.

How do I know when I’ve had a good workout? When my muscles are wobbly then I know I’ve worked them enough. And the next day if my muscles are sore then I know it was a good workout. For example, if your butt is sore the next day and you can’t sit on the toilet without using the handicap bar, you know you did plenty of squats the day before.

penquin waddle

1/11/16 Total Body:

This one I’m writing down from memory because I did it on the fly and then forgot to write it down later. I’m pretty sure I remember all the moves but it doesn’t seem right because what I’m remembering should’ve lasted longer than my watch says it did – I used my watch to time the workout and then saved it for future reference.

snowbunnybig-01The warm up/cardio I used came from Blogilates’ Snowbunny Blast. The rest was done in the same manner (45s exercise, 15s rest).

Equipment Needed: 2 pairs of dumbbells

Warm Up: SB – 1 round

  • Squats
  • Bicep Curls
  • Alt Side Lunges
  • Tricep Kickbacks
  • Front Lunges (each side)

SB – Butt Kicks, Mountain Climbers

  • Front/Lateral Raises
  • Plie Squats
  • Reverse Fly
  • Calf Raises
  • Deadlift
  • Front/Side/Back Lunges (right side)

SB – Football Runs, Front Kicks

  • Upright Row
  • Front/Side/Back/Lunges (left side)
  • Bicep Curl w/Shoulder Press
  • Reverse Lunges (each side)
  • Infinity Abs

Stretching: 5min

This was an awesome workout. I wish I had combined the lower body with the upper body moves though so I could’ve gotten a better workout. Still, the cardio had me sweating and my butt was sore the next day.

1/12/16

Whoops! Missed this one. I’ll have to make up for it later.

workout_fail

1/13/16 Lower Body:

Warm up, cardio, and cool down were done on a recumbent bike. Each mile took somewhere between 4-5 minutes. Strength training exercises were each 45 seconds long with a 15 second break in between. It was easier to keep time this way and I wanted to do the same kind of set up from the Blogilates’ Snowbunny Blast routine. I’d skip the 15s rest time if I had to do it again though – I didn’t need it.

Equipment Needed – recumbent bike

Warm Up: Recumbent Bike – 1mi

  • Squats – 45s
  • Stationary lunge (each side) – 45s, 45s
  • Hip side ext in squat (each side) – 45s, 45s

Recumbent Bike – 1mi

  • Plie squats – 45s
  • Calf raises in plie – 45s
  • One legged deadlift (each side) – 45s, 45s

Recumbent Bike – 1mi

  • Side lunges (each side) – 45s, 45s
  • Butt lifts (each side) – 45s, 45s

Recumbent Bike – 1mi

Cool down: Recumbent Bike – 1mi

Stretching: 5min

The whole workout was 45 minutes long. I figure if I do another of the same length another day (or do 2 in one day HA!), then I’ll have successfully made up my missed Tuesday workout. Of course, I may just workout on Saturday instead because I wasn’t all that fond of having 2 days off in a row last time.

1/14/16 Total Body (emphasis on Upper):

This was meant to be an upper body and core workout but then I thought about how much better it would be if I incorporated the lower body into it as well. Do both upper and lower at the same time, ya know? You burn more calories that way because you’re working harder to activate more muscles all at once. And you get more done in less time. This was a dilemma as I had just worked my lower body the day before; however, I wasn’t sore and this was still going to be mainly about the upper body and core so I figured it’d be safe.

Times are easy. Used Cassey’s Snowbunny Blast again for the warm up/cardio. This time I took my own advise and nixed the 15s rest between the strengthening moves. Still did everything for 45s though. Also, the core work at the end is from Cassey’s 30 Day Waist Trainer. Instead of her last move with the leg raise and side crunch, I did a plank. I wish I had stuck with her move though as this killed my poor, weak abs.

Equipment Needed: 2 pairs of dumbbells, mat

Warm Up: SB – 1 round

  • Bicep Curl in Stationary Front Lunge (right side)
  • Tricep Kickback on One Leg (right side)
  • Hammer Curl in Stationary Front Lunge (left side)
  • Tricep Overhead on One Leg (left side)
  • Shoulder Press w/Squat

SB – Mountain Climbers, Football Runs

  • Front / Lateral Raises
  • Reverse Fly
  • Single Leg Deadlift (right side)
  • Single Leg Deadlift (left side)
  • Upright Row

SB – Front Kicks, Butt Kicks

  • Push Ups
  • Tricep Dips w/Leg Raise (both sides)
  • Chest Press w/Butt Raises
  • Chest Fly (hold butt up entire time)

30-day-waist-trainer-big-03Core:

  • Eagle Abs
  • Reverse Crunch
  • Double D’s
  • Infinity Abs
  • Plank

Stretching: 5min

1/15/16:

Oh poo. I never got around to exercising this day either. I had planned to walk/run outside because the roads were mostly frozen instead of their usual squelchy mud. But it was freezing the whole day and I had being outside when the air is so cold that my nose, ears, and hands freeze upon contact.

1/16/16:

It’s even colder today. Jeez. It’s supposed to be warmer tomorrow but I don’t know…Exercising 3 days a week is my minimum so at least I did that much. And they were good workouts. The last one especially. Good luck to us all next week!

comfy couch

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 16, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

