1st Week of January

My change started earlier this week and the second day I was so sore. Wow. Really. When it comes to exercise, nothing to something HURTS! I would rank my first workout on the medium to lighter side of what I used to be able to do. Does this make me feel bad? Not really because it still kicked my butt and I know that when you stop exercising, you can’t reasonably expect yourself to be able to pick it back up from where you left off. It just doesn’t work that way. If you try, you’ll hurt yourself and/or you’ll burn out super quick and end up stopping again.

I used the workout timer on the Blogilates app for some of my workouts.IMG_8321-e1444263577389tumblr_nvvjjwXd9Q1qd45ayo1_500

It’s pretty straightforward – I put different exercises in, chose the time for each move as well as the warm-up time, a rest between rounds, and ended with how many rounds I wanted. It calculates how much time that workout will take and you just press start. Cassey Ho added her voice in for the 3,2,1 countdown for switching moves and resting. I would prefer a more complicated app that would allow me to change the times of moves and put in different moves for the different rounds and I believe apps like that are out there but I didn’t want to make the effort of finding one when all I wanted was to get down to it and exercise.

Here was the quickie workout I made for myself. Not a huge amount of thought went into it; I just wanted to hit the major muscle groups and make sure there was cardio in there to raise my heart rate. My equipment is also pretty non-existent so I had to keep it simple.

1/4/16 Total Body:

  • Warm-Up
  • Squats
  • Plies (round 1) / Alternating Forward Lunges (round 2)
  • Jumping Jacks
  • Inclined Push Ups
  • Tricep Dips
  • Squat Jumps (round 1) / Side to Side Jumps and Quick Feet (round 2)
  • Hip Adduction (Left Side) w/Side Crunch
  • Hip Adduction (Right Side) w/Side Crunch
  • High Knees

Warm-up was 2 minutes. 10-second rest between rounds – 2 rounds. Each move was 1 minute. Cool down and stretching lasted almost 8 minutes. About 28 minutes total.

1/5/16 Core:

I used a Blogilates video for my ab workout. It’s one of the new videos from Blogilates – The ULTIMATE 2016 AB WORKOUT. It rocked. And killed my abs. I probably should’ve done another video but my hip flexors were hurting. I’ve had issues with them for years now. Ah well.

(On a side note, I’ve been totally wanting that mat Cassey’s using. Money is a problem so I had to go with a cheaper and thinner mat from Target. I was disappointed but I love my new mat so it’s okay. There’s always next year!)

Now was I actually able to do every single rep? Umm…No, because my abs aren’t what they used to be so I was a lot slower than Cassey. But I tried my best and that’s what counts.

1/6/16 Total Body:

Total Body Tone Up came from Tone It Up. It was fun and the moves were simple enough but my belly is so weak that the end really killed my core muscles. For each move, they say to do 2o-25 reps. (NOTE: The one exception for this is #9: Side Plank Twist – you do 5 reps each side with that one.) I settled on 20 because I had never done this workout before and had no idea how difficult it might be. Just because a move looks easy, doesn’t mean your muscles won’t be screaming at you early on.

Equipment: pair of dumbbells (I used 3lbs)

TOTAL-BODY-TONE-UP-JPG

This workout, including about 5 minutes of stretching afterward, took about 35 minutes to complete.

1/7/16 Upper Body and Core:

Because I stuck with a lighter weight the day before, this day was dedicated to my arms and shoulders. The warm up was 2 minutes, each exercise was 1 minute long, and there was a 10-second rest between rounds. 2 rounds total.

Equipment: 2 pairs of dumbbell (8lbs and 3lbs)

  • warm up
  • bicep curls
  • upright rows
  • front punches
  • push ups
  • shoulder press
  • uppercut
  • tricep kickback
  • lateral / front raises
  • arm raises (round 1) / cross hook (round 2)

The upper body portion took 20 minutes to complete (timed by the Blogilates timer I mentioned for the first workout). Add in 5 minutes of stretching.

30-day-waist-trainer-big-03I realized later that night that this other app I’m using to log my calories and exercise only counts workouts of 30 minutes or more for the challenges (one of which I’m in). In my opinion that’s stupid and frustrating, but I’ll deal and get used to it. Anyway, so I added in another 10 minutes of core work and 2 minutes of stretching at night.

  • Eagle Abs – 55 reps
  • Reverse Crunch – 55 reps
  • Double D’s – 55 reps
  • Infinity Abs – 5 reps

The ab workout came from Cassey Ho’s 30-Day Waist Trainer Challenge. It’s a daily challenge for the month of January but I forgot all about it and hadn’t even started it till the 7th. Since I needed 10 minutes to round off my 30-minute workout, I did the moves for each day I had missed in January.

1/8/16 Lower Body:

Lots more snow out today. Sucks. Totally not going outside to exercise or going out at all if I can help because the snow shows no signs of stopping. Yesterday’s cardio kinda sorta really sucked (except my arms did get horribly tired and now they’re super sore today). Luckily I remembered there’s a recumbent bike (not mine) in the house that I can use so I’m breaking up my lower body exercises with cycling. I’ll be doing this later today.

  • Warm up – Recumbent Bike – 1 mile
  • Squats – 20 reps
  • Alternating Forward Lunges – 20 reps
  • Recumbent Bike – 1 mile
  • Plie Squats – 20 reps
  • Calf Raises in Plie – 20 reps
  • Recumbent Bike – 1 mile
  • Alternating Side Lunges – 20 reps
  • Butt Lifts – 20 reps
  • Recumbent Bike – 1 mile
  • Hip Abductions – 20 reps (each side)
  • Hip Adductions – 20 reps (each side)
  • Recumbent Bike – 1 mile

That last mile will be slower to act as a cool down. At least 5 minutes of stretching follows and then all done for the week! I like to rest on Saturday and Sunday so I can start anew on Monday and then die the rest of the week.

Other people will rest only one day and exercise the other 6 but I’ve never really cared for that. My willpower weakens phenomenally quickly knowing I won’t be able to rest for a long time and then for only one day. It’s like going to work 6 days in a row and having only 1 day off – sucks big time. Not for me. Unless I’m training and am totally serious about completing everything and not slacking so I can make the people who said I couldn’t do it eat their words.

Now that’s REAL motivation.

HumblePie3

I may or may not have issues.

So I’m super sore now but feel totally productive. How was your week?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 8, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

