New Year, Old Me

What??? Yep, you heard me – old me. Like, seriously old. I have gained so much weight and lost so much muscle that I’m back to where I was about 5 years ago. Well, maybe not 5 years ago because 5 years ago (give or take however many months) I was once more hovering at 200 lbs. That was when I started taking my life back with daily walks, cardio DVDs, SparkPeople.com, and calorie-counting. Though the exercise was good, the dieting was not. I ate awful food thinking it was okay because I was eating a smaller amount.

1-changing-bad-eating-habits-c

Everyone has to have a starting point though and that was mine. From counting calories I eventually went to healthy eating and my exercise increased. At my best I was 162 lbs (I’m almost 5’10”) and could easily fit into a size 12 jeans. That is no longer the case and I am horrified that I can no longer fit into my jeans. Lately all I wear are yoga pants and skinny jeans because they’re stretchy.

bad-fit

I hit 189 lbs the other day and realized my weight gain was not going to stop if my increasingly bad habits did not. So I’m rebooting this blog to help hold myself accountable for my actions or lack thereof. I’m not saying this will keep me from flubbing and missing a workout or slipping in my eating. On the contrary, I’ve already eaten a ton of chocolates (damn you leftover holiday chocolate sales!). But hopefully my increased exercise – from nothing to something – will make up the difference when I do indulge. Hopefully that won’t be a daily occurrence but I’d be deluded to think it won’t happen at least 3 times a week.

I mean, I’m just starting off again. Cut me (and yourself) some slack! Give serious devotion time to take effect before you start beating me (or yourself) up for too much indulgence. Change takes time.

971ab089a8c773654c40dc8691b33a90

Here are my icky new stats that I’m going to obliterate this year:

  • Weight: 187.8 lbs
  • Upper Arms: L 12″, R 12 3/4″
  • Chest: 32 3/4″
  • Waist: 35 1/2″
  • Lower Belly: 42 1/2″
  • Hips: 44 1/2″
  • Thighs: L 24 1/2″, R 25″
  • Calves: L/R 15 3/4″

Okay, so I’m not going to obliterate my calf measurements – I’ve always had big calves, even at my smallest – but I like to have them all the same. Those other measurements though. Ugh. That’s, like, a 2-4″ gain! Not good. Especially since my jeans don’t fit anymore.

If you’re not happy with your body either, you can always join me in my journey. It’s easy to find videos and workout routines for free online. Blogilates and ToneItUp are my favorites. In fact, both sites have come out with new videos this week. Blogilates brought out a new ab workout that I did today and Tone It Up has a new total body workout that I’ll be doing tomorrow.

Let’s beat those measurements into the dust!

strong-women

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 5, 2016, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

