Bikini Series and Injuries

I swear, exercising is bad for my health. I’m injured.

Again.

Exercise is bad for my health:

  • Always getting injured
  • Some injuries will never properly heal
  • Always tired
  • Always sore

Exercise is good for my health:

  • Sleep better
  • Get stronger
  • More regular poop!
  • Stronger immune system/heart/lungs/etc
  • Look better
  • Endorphins!
  • Faster metabolism
  • Feeling of accomplishment and productivity
  • Higher self esteem

So, really, exercise is good for my health but my hip says differently right now as it is the injured party this time.

tiuTone It Up has various fitness challenges during the year. Each one I try I end up quitting for different reasons. Last week they started their 8 Week Bikini Series. Yes, I started it last week but it was after I posted which is why it wasn’t mentioned. If I make it to the end or if I don’t, I’m not worried about but I’ll give it my all.

Usually if I’m going to get injured during a fitness challenge, my body holds off till the middle or the end. Rarely does it happen in the very beginning but that’s what has happened this time. I’m hoping it doesn’t last long and that I can get moving again soon because I’m not keen on this limp I’m rockin’. But I am rockin’ it, have no doubts about that.

What happened is that on Saturday I took my son out for the afternoon. I’m not the most serious of outdoors people so I was pretty pooped after 2 hours of being in the sun (not that I was really doing anything, but the fresh air wears me out anyway). We ended by taking him to the small basketball court at our apt complex.

My TIU workout scheduled for that day was Thailand Tush (it’s fun by the way, I’ve done it in the past), but when I got to the court, I realized I didn’t have a dumbbell (which I use as a sub for the kettlebell) or my mat so I couldn’t really do the workout. Luckily (or perhaps unluckily as the case has turned out to be), I did have my iPad which has the Nike+ Training Club app on it so I substituted the Better Butt routine there in place of Thailand Tush.

Imagine all the moves you can use to work your butt. Now take out all the ones that require you to lie or kneel down on the ground. What kind of butt moves can you do standing up?

Various forms of lunges and squats.

The workout was really simple – 5 different moves, each 1 minute long, done 3 times. The workout’s only 15 minutes long but it’s INTENSE.

  • Single Leg Clock Squats (switch legs after 30 sec)
  • Alternating Step Back Lunges
  • Split Jumps
  • Pulse Lunges (switch legs after 30 sec)
  • Wide Leg Deadlifts

Technically the routine calls for dumbbells but I rarely need them for body weight moves because I weigh enough as it is.

In the end what killed my butt was working it too hard but the move that really did it was the Split Jumps (aka Split Lunge Jumps).

0904-lunge-jumps_0

How to: Starting in lunge position, jump up and switch legs midair, landing back in a lunge.

Normally I avoid this move like the plague because it’s hard. Or, if I don’t avoid it, I give up early on and switch to regular lunges. There were times I did that this time but I tried hard not to and kept going back to the Split Lunges. The end result was that I hurt my hip so now I’m hobbling around like someone needing a hip replacement.

The worst part about it is that the rest of my butt as well as my thighs (front and back) are seriously sore too so I can’t just balance on the other leg. It doesn’t matter that all those other muscles are suffering from the good kind of soreness because they’re still screaming from pain whenever I move.

I’m still going to continue with the Bikini Series. We’re starting Week 2 now and it looks like just as much fun as the 1st week. I’ll probably be changing any running to bicycling and lightening up BIG time on any leg work. My arms and core are fine though so BRING IT!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 20, 2015, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

