Lazy But Not Lazy

Oops! How lazy have I been! Except I also haven’t been lazy. I’ve just been a lazy blogger is all. I haven’t been the busiest bee when it comes to exercising, but nor have I been the laziest. That’s mostly been because my son was recently out on Spring break which wouldn’t have been the biggest deal except his 6-year-molars decided to start coming in and it gave him a fever and massive pain for nearly the whole week.

EEP! Poor little guy.

Luckily he was well enough by Easter to enjoy himself and play with a new friend during/after their Easter Egg Hunt. We went on walks/bike rides with him before and after the fever too but I don’t usually bother myself by tracking those activities. I prefer to merely enjoy them and not worry about when we started/stopped and how far we went etc.

But now that he’s back in school I’ve started up a new program on the Nike+ Training Club app. It’s fun, free, and has TONS of workouts to choose from. They’ll even guide you through each move with video tutorials, step-by-step written/verbal instructions, and beeping/verbal timers. And, no, I wasn’t cussing – the timer is a beep and a verbal cue.

Nike+-Training-Club-App1

There’s just one problem – my workout won’t be added into my stats if I’m not using wifi when I do it. This is a problem because I’m NEVER around wifi when I exercise. Someone exclaimed that I must live in a 3rd world country because I have no wifi and no cable at home. Cable I can easily live without because my library’s movie selection rocks and I have Netflix. No wifi has been harder to deal with but I manage quite admirably I think.

keep-calm-and-what-no-wifi

So I’m “doing” them again in places with wifi so they’ll be counted. Since my original sessions don’t get saved, I figure this isn’t cheating. I’m merely updating the stats info…the long way. It’s a bit annoying and I don’t know if the app was always like this (the last time I used it I exercised at a gym and had wifi access) but oh well. We’ll see how it goes.

Since my husband’s home these days, he takes our son out to ride his bike and scooter on the small basketball court in our apt complex when the weather’s nice (which is most of the time these days). That is terribly boring for me so I take my yoga mat and running shoes and do my Nike workouts in a small corner of the court. My mere presence makes my son happy so it resembles “family time.”

Family-Cartoon

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 9, 2015, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

