The Lure of Junk Food

I’m sure most people have dealt with the lure of junk food. What is it about sugary, salty, fatty foods that makes them so inviting? What is it about chocolate chip cookies and Oreos that make them so difficult to stay away from or, since we can’t stay away from them, to stick with one instead of five? Potato chips? Good grief.

Salt, sugar, and fat. Those are the three main ingredients that Americans generally cook with. ARGH! So addictive!

ttc-the-sugary-truth

Goodness. That’s a bit disturbing. I was poisoning my body all through childhood and well into adulthood. And, right now, I’m poisoning it again!

My parents are visiting and I’ve allowed my diet to pretty much hit rock bottom. It’s awful. Really awful. But you know what the worst part of it is? Despite feeling guilty for actively seeking out junk to eat, I don’t feel guilty enough to stop. In fact, when I’m in the throes of salty or sugary ecstasy, I forget that I felt guilt at all.

f327e208f31cb6da36883738bc460b61

I’ve even been eating DONUTS again! GASP! I trained myself away from donuts years ago except for when I messed up a few times (maybe 2 or 3 times during the entire year) in 2014. But now? Now I’m in seventh heaven having at least one donut a week.

Piggy donut_min

These are not gluten or dairy-free either so I don’t feel all that great after I’ve eaten them. And yet I’m still actively seeking them out and leading myself down that sugary path of addiction once more.

I’m telling myself right now that when my parents leave I’ll stop this insane behavior but secretly I know that that’s probably not going to happen. Don’t we all tell ourselves, “I’ll start exercising/dieting/etc on Monday/beginning of the month/etc?” and then we don’t? We’re merely looking for a convenient and guilt-free way to allow ourselves to continue on our nasty little paths.

I’m not saying a donut every now and then is a bad thing but nearly every day along with M&Ms, cookies, cinnamon rolls, lemon loaf cakes, raspberry pudding cakes, etc is a bit much, don’t you think?

If farts and burps could cure cancer, I’d save the world. Those are some of the side effects when I eat gluten and dairy. Even my dad has been impressed with my burps on more than one occasion during this trip.

funny_bib_for_baby_toddler_i_burp_and_fart_like_my_daddy_large_towel_35e2c0b0

I’m determined now to at least get some cardio in if I’m going to be a sugar hound. So today I cycled 47 minutes on a recumbent bike. I would’ve walked on the treadmill or used the elliptical but my knee is giving me problems so I wanted to keep my walking/jogging down to the mile it takes to pick my son up from school and get home.

When I got home, I impressed my dad with my stretching (gotta stretch that knee out and then ice it – among other body parts – or it gets worse) and then I showed him my wilted bird of paradise pose and finished by standing on my head. Woo! Nothing better than impressing the parents!

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

