Challenges and Calendars

Lots of updates today!

  • 30-Day Flat Abs Challenge
  • 30-Day Butt Lift Challenge
  • Workout Calendars
  • February Weight Loss Challenge
  • Blogilates Book

30-Day Flat Abs Challenge

30-day-ab-challenge-2

I didn’t get around to mentioning this before but all this month of January I’ve been doing Cassey Ho’s 30-Day Flat Ab Challenge. It was tons of fun and I finished it yesterday! WOO! I did every single day. About 3 or 4 times I accidentally skipped a day so the next day I would start the day off with the previous day’s missed line-up. Later in the day I’d do my JanYOUary workouts and finish with the current day’s Flat Abs line-up.

Double the burn!! It was all good. There were times when I’d lose count of my roll-ups so I’d add 1 or 2 more on at the end to make sure. My abs would probably be flat by now if my diet had been good but it wasn’t so I’m still pudgy. But that’s okay because my abs are tons stronger. I have no idea how I was able to do all of that but I DID IT!!!

2. 30-Day Butt Lift Challenge

30-day-butt-challenge-1

Everyone loved Cassey’s ab challenge and begged her to make another challenge for this month so she did! Thank goodness my abs get a break. They’ve been sore since Day 1 of the abs challenge. Now my butt gets to hurt starting tomorrow. But I LOVE working my butt now. Cassey has worked my butt so much in her videos that I’ve actually started to enjoy it. It’s so much stronger than it used to be and I feel like it looks way better. Less cellulite.

Don’t ask me to prove that though as my tape measure doesn’t really agree with me. It’s all about mental image though, right? I believe I look better than I used to so I do. My confidence will show through and make others see me the way I do as well.

3. Workout Calendars

jan-2015-2

Today’s the last day of the JanYOUary Calendar! WOO! Thank goodness I’m almost done. I really started to slip by the end. My left hip flexor is hurting so that I have to RICE it a lot. It’s annoying and I’m always forgetting. But at least I’ve found ways to stretch it that actually work now. Or maybe it’s just that it’s gotten so stiff that my stretching works now. Pfft. Ah well.

I feel I need to back off a bit from the calendars so I won’t be moving on to the FABruary Calendar (which will be available tomorrow on Blogilates…if you want the code for it, sign up for Cassey’s newsletter – it’s easy and free, just go to Blogilates and sign up). Instead, I’m going to try out her new Beginner’s 2.0 Calendar.

beginners-2b-1

I’ll be adding in cardio from her printable cardio routines and her videos here and there as well. And that leads me right into…

3. February Weight Loss Challenge

Cassey is starting a new kind of motivation for those people who can’t push themselves on their own or with a buddy etc to lose weight. She’s started a group on DietBet for people who want to wage money that they can lose a certain amount of weight in February. It’s called the February Hot Body Challenge.

As you may imagine, it’s not free. It costs $30 to join the group but you get that money back…if you reach your goal by the end of the month. Starting February 2nd, you take a pic of yourself on the scale and also the weight the scale shows (you wear normal clothes). You have to send this in to the site as proof of your weight. It ends March 1st when you take the same pics over and send them in. Your goal is to lose 4% of your body weight within that time period.

The $30 you gave at the start goes into a community pot in the group. That pot will be divided evenly among the winners at the end of the month. If you succeed in your 4% weight loss, you get your $30 back PLUS your share of the community pot. If you fail, you lose your $30.

It scares me to bet that much money on my weight loss because I have no income (I made a deal with my husband for a monthly allowance or else my spending gets out of control) and lots of things can go wrong in a month, so I won’t be participating. However, I do like the idea so I’m going to do a much safer version of this with my husband as the banker. I’ll start February 2nd and take the pictures and give them to my husband. Then March 1st I’ll do it again and if I’ve lost my 4% then he’ll give me $30.

Good luck to me!

4. Blogilates Book

Last but definitely not least…

 

c0e4780d-0e9d-4e0d-9e71-c1c551963c25

Cassey Ho’s book is coming out!! She can tell you better about it than I can so here’s the video she made about it.

Since I was going to buy it anyway when it comes out in April, I went ahead and pre-ordered it yesterday so I can get the free tote bag as well! Woo! She shows it in the video but, in case you didn’t watch the video, you can get a glimpse of part of it in the above pic of her book. Train Like A Beast Look Like A Beauty.

AHH!! I’m so excited!!!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 31, 2015, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. o_O I’d have to lose 10 pounds in a month to win that $30. Working at my hardest when I was smaller and active and cutting down calories and working 8 hours a day at a physically demanding job, I lost 5 pounds a month. My metabolism and thyroid and nutritional profile have all gotten way worse since then, so 5 tends to be my stretch goal now.

    Of course, I…uh…don’t really focus like I should. I would LOVE to lose 10 in a month, though. Being sick for three weeks hasn’t done me any favors, and I hit my random spring spike six weeks early which makes it a lot worse. 10 pounds would be very nice…hmmm… Nope. I don’t have the money to join you in February. Maybe in March, when I can afford supplements to fill in the holes in my hormone profile…hmmmm…

    Way to go on the Abs Challenge, though! My abs cringe at the very thought of doubling up. (Or they would, if they weren’t already half-dead from all the coughing I’ve been doing…) I really wanted to reboot the Beginner’s Calendar today, too, but I’m way too sick. Booooo! Good luck with February butt kicking! 😀

    • Yeah, I don’t have the money to do the DietBet either, but my husband can afford it. 😉 hehe Especially since he probably thinks I won’t make it. He’s not saying that nor is he implying it in any way, shape, or form but I’m guessing he thinks it. I’m a paranoid person though so I could be wrong.

      Hmm…I’ve noticed you are quite a sickly person. That certainly puts a crimp in working out and losing weight. Maybe there’s a way for you to push yourself to do perhaps 2-5 minutes of light exercise a couple times a day? Then you’d get something in and you’d still be able to rest a lot. Like this month’s Butt Lift challenge and last month’s Flat Abs. You could try Day 1 of each every day. It’s not a lot but it gets your body moving. And you wouldn’t have to do it all at once. There are lots of ways to break it up so it’s doable. I’m running out of internet time so I’ll have to go more into it later. Good luck!

      • I don’t normally get as sick as I have recently. The husband works with kids from multiple high schools and at least three colleges, so we tend to get sick three times a year – when school starts, around Christmas, and when school ends. All times when new germs start circulating. Kiddo just started preschool at the end of October, though, and he’s brought home a new cold every 2 or 3 weeks since. And then every 2 or 3 years, I get knocked on my butt in January. That was this year. Hopefully 2015 continues the usual trend and I won’t get sick much at all for the rest of the year! (I think this year has a lot to do with last year’s vitamin d problem, as I keep hearing more and more how much it has to do with immunity and metabolism and the proper functioning of pretty much all systems.)

        Normally when I get sick, I still dance. Normally, it’s just a head cold so I can also still walk. The last five weeks, though, it’s been a super nasty bout of flu (oh, my sister’s also been flying to and from Texas a lot the last few months, and airplane germs are worse than preschool germs!) and then a minor cold that turned into sinusitis and bronchitis while my hormones were all messed up. (Hormones play a role in immunity, if only because when they’re screwed up, so is everything else.) With the flu, I could barely get out of bed. I still danced about two hours the first day I felt yucky and did my blogilates day. And then the week between that and getting sick again, I think I walked three or four miles and danced several hours and did a day or two of blogilates. And then in the middle of this forever cold, I helped my sister pack her apartment, load her truck, unload furniture at storage, and then pack up the truck again. So I wasn’t just sitting on my duff the whole time. 🙂 I’m feeling ever so much better today and all I want to do is go play outside…but it’s snowing, and I don’t have snow clothes for me or the kiddo. 😦 Oh well. It’s supposed to be back up to 60 for the rest of the week, so tomorrow will be soon enough!

        Thanks for the thoughts, though! It made me think about future colds and what I could do to keep moving through them. 🙂

      • Pfft. You acted like you weren’t doing squat during your illnesses. Instead of you were moving around and doing lots of stuff. 😛 I’m still sorry you get sick so much. So many germs shouldn’t be such a problem but if you’re the type of person who gets sick then I guess it would be. 😦

      • Hey now, it’s natural and normal to get at least a little sick when exposed to new germs while the body figures out how to fight them. If you don’t, it’s either because you have limited exposure to truly new germs (travelers, big cities, new places, etc.) or because your immune system kicks major butt. 🙂 So don’t go around makin’ normal people feel like losers just because you’re Superwoman. ;D

      • You’re not a loser. Your immune system is. 😉 lol Just kidding. I never considered my immune system to be particularly strong especially since it felt like I was always getting sick growing up, but it’s true that I don’t get sick all that often anymore. It may be because I’ve been exposed to lots of new and old germs so often that my system has gotten strong. Those years I worked in childcare I mean. Man was I sick a lot that first year. After that though I adjusted as they said I would. Airborne works wonders too. 😉 The hubs and I take Emergen-C and Airborne religiously when we get sick. We never stay sick long…except this last time when all 3 of us got knocked on our butts but that was around November or December or something.

      • Heh. I was actually just thinking about that. “I bet she has an awesome immune database from all that time spent working in daycare.” And mine is pretty empty. Somehow, no matter how much I think about it when I’m first getting sick, I *always* forget to buy vitamin c boosters. Boo on my memory! I’m sure that would help a lot!

Leave a Reply

