JanYOUary Calendar & 10-Day Yoga (End of Transformation)

When I say this is the end of my transformation, I don’t really mean it’s the “end” end. I wasn’t a caterpillar who made a cocoon and popped out a butterfly. If I was I’d have wings and last I checked I wasn’t that cool.

10906373_651329141656720_1165787811502762374_n

I mean I’m all caught up with my transformation story. Or I will be as soon as I tell you about the calendar currently killing me.

jan-2015-2

Today is the 27th so I have videos like “Bodacious Back & Sleek Shoulders” to look forward to. Although that video has been on the calendar before, I’ve never done it because I hadn’t recorded it yet. But I have it now and I’m looking forward to trying it for the first time. It’s from Cassey’s Bikini Blaster series.

Toward the end of December, I started falling off with my exercise so I gave myself a new goal – instead of pushing myself to do every single video every day (which is impossible as I don’t buy the calendar on the Blogilates app so I never see the special video of the month; ie “New Year New You” for this month), I would push myself to do 1 video every day at the very least.

THE VERY LEAST.

This has made my life so much easier and I usually find myself doing far better than I would otherwise. Instead of dreading doing 5 intense videos, I look at the list for the day and start with 1 video then pick another and another. My average is 3 videos a day plus stretching after if I’m being good. However, there are days when I’m not feeling up to it or the videos given are super hard and I can’t bear to do more than 1 or 2. There are other days when I’m on top of the world and I get 4 videos done. I almost never get all 5 though. I think maybe it’s happened once this month.

980fc2fea86d4bea7718be4ad9bea802

Another reason for not doing every video every day is that my left hip flexor is having problems so I have to ease up on it. I’ve seen the doctor and his only advice was to stretch it, ice it, and take Ibuprofen. Considering I was trying to stretch it before, this might not seem like helpful advice. But I never thought to ice it or take Ibuprofen because I didn’t think it was enflamed or anything. And he suggested if my stretching wasn’t working to try different angles. Ding ding ding! Why that didn’t occur to me before when I do it with other muscle groups, I don’t know. Sometimes we need reminders from other people.

6ecf30926e7258ef03ba42e02c599038

Oh yeah. And I should get up from my desk to walk around and stretch and not sit around so much. When my problems with that have gone away, I’ll increase the videos that center around those muscles but until then I’m taking it easy with them (maybe 1 or 2 of those videos instead of 3 or 4).

As for the 10-Day Hot Yoga Challenge from Absolute Yoga Academy, I’m having an awesome time! I’m on day 5 today though I haven’t done the pose yet. I almost never get the pose posted on the right day due to my own problems with internet and picture-taking but I always do them. I’m more flexible than I was in the last challenge and I was more flexible in that challenge than I was the last time I had done some of those poses. Stronger too.

Day 1 - Standing Forehead to Knee Pose - Right Leg

(Standing Forehead to Knee Pose)

Woo! Look at those straight legs! Please don’t look at my curved back and hunched shoulders though. I was super excited to be able to get my legs straight because I’ve never been able to grab my foot and straighten the leg before. Then to get my head that close to my leg? So happy! My form is rotten though, I know.

This one is better…

Day 2 - Standing Bow - Right Leg

(Standing Bow)

Don’t tell me my form’s bad on this one. If it is I don’t see it. Oh! Do you like my new yoga mat? Christmas present from my cousin! It’s from the Blogilates store; Cassey Ho designed it. I love it!

When it first came it stunk like new rubber and my sweat brings the smell out still, but I think it’s slowly going away the more I use it. The smell encourages me to always wipe it down with lemon wet wipes in the hopes that it’ll start to smell like lemons after awhile. So far it still smells like rubber but only when I really get movin’ on it.

I still can’t believe it’s long enough for me! My last one was way too short but there hadn’t been any other options at the time. My toes are so happy to be included on the mat now.

happyfeet-10toes

Today’s hot yoga pose (Day 5) is 2 in 1. Tree and Toe Stand Pose. I can both on their own. Let’s see if I can do them together.

To see my attempts at the 10-Day Hot Yoga Challenge, you can go to my Facebook page (CousinK8) or to my Instagram (kstjshin). You can still join in if you want. Just go to Absolute Yoga Academy and click on their Hot Yoga Challenge link. It’s free and open to all.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 27, 2015, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

