I’m Baaaaack! Beginner’s Calendar: Start of Transformation

*Warning: This is long.*

To those of you who noticed I was gone, thank you! I love you guys! To the rest of the world, I took a break from blogging a couple months ago because I was no longer the “Fitness Freak” I was when I started this blog. I didn’t feel like I was qualified to say anything about fitness much less give advice about it when I couldn’t stick to my own exercise plan. Every challenge I set for myself, no matter how small, ended in failure. Entire weeks would go by with me sitting on my butt doing diddly squat.

We should all do squats, right? They’re awesome for our thighs and butt! However, “diddly” squat is not a squat and should be avoided at all costs.

I said before that I needed time to get my life back in order. Experts say that daily exercise becomes a habit if kept up for 3 months so I thought to wait 3 months before coming back to this blog. After that amount of time, I’d be able to succeed at the goals and challenges I publically set for myself rather than advertise them to the world and then publically fail. However, I’ve been caught up in the New Year wave and have been doing so well in my fitness goals and am so happy with where I am right now that I thought I’d come back early.

What have I been doing for the past 2 months?

I’ve been transforming myself into a Popster!

Cassey Ho from Blogilates has been so influential in changing my attitude etc. In all honesty, I don’t think I would’ve been nearly so successful if it hadn’t been for her. All it took was one comment from her on her Facebook page and I was hooked. She showed me that she cared. Out of the hundreds of comments to her post, she responded to mine. It wasn’t long and it wasn’t the most original but it was personal. She had read my entire comment and replied to me. It made me feel awesome and special which is something I hadn’t felt like in a while.

I started with her Beginner’s Calendar to ease myself back into the exercise world. Lemme tell ya, it was difficult!

Beginners-calendar-new

I told myself during every workout that it was okay to go at my own pace, to make modifications, to rest when I needed it. Every workout. I needed the reminders because I’m the sort who will go all out until I want to die and then I don’t want to do it again the next time or I feel depressed because I couldn’t keep up with the instructor and I eventually give up.

comparison-is-the-thief-of-joy

compare-beginning-to-middle

That first week I was SO sore! The pain (a good pain) peaked during the weekend (I started on a Monday) and then that rest day on Sunday allowed my muscles to regain some semblance of life so that when the 2nd week started, I was no longer so sore. Nor did I get as sore until week 4 when Cassey upped the game with more (and harder) workouts.

That workout that’s repeated every Monday – POP Pilates for Beginners: Total Body Workout – was super hard for me in the beginning but it got progressively easier every week. Every repeated workout got easier which is why you will see that Cassey adds on different workouts to go along with them.

My body adjusted and got stronger. Every day I worked myself as hard as I could with each workout, taking breaks and doing modifications whenever I needed them. There were times I so didn’t want to do it but I pushed myself to get it over with because the videos are short. Most of them are 10 minutes or less. A lot of them are in the teens while some killers are in the 20s. With a video being 5 minutes, I’d tell myself, “It’s only 5 minutes,” and I’d do it. Then the next video would be about the same and I’d tell myself the same thing. Next thing I know, I’ve done 20 minutes or more and I’m done for the day! There were many a day when I’d break up my exercise time and do a video in the morning, another in the afternoon, and another in the evening or whatever. They were short and didn’t get me sweaty so it was totally doable.

I got through the entire Beginner’s Calendar without skipping one workout. Not one! For the first time in over half a year, I succeeded at a fitness challenge. I even met the goals I had set for myself for the first month. I felt stronger, I had lost 5lbs and a total of several inches, I was healthier, and most importantly I was happy. Every day felt like Christmas because I was so proud of myself and what I had accomplished.

It also felt like Christmas because my husband let me spend money on early presents for myself.

DSC_0019

I’ll leave the second month of my transformation for the next post. If you’re inspired so far though and want to try the path I took, take a trip on over to Blogilates and see Cassey Ho’s site for yourself. She has exercise/motivational/recipe videos, calendars, printable versions of many of her workouts, an app that you can download that has all that and more including a forum where you can talk to other Popsters and post videos/pictures of yourself etc. And the best part is that it’s all free! She has some dvds out as well and a couple sites that sell clothes, yoga mats, fitness journals, etc (ShopBlogilates and BodyPop). Some of it can get pricey (most notably the Bodypop active clothing line), but it’s all good quality. At least, my clothes haven’t fallen apart yet anyway.

DSC_0018

Anyway, until next time when I go into the DecemBURN calendar!

Oh! By the way, Cassey’s made a new Beginner’s Calendar.

beginners-2b-1

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 6, 2015, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

