Am I Ever Not Injured??

I’m injured…again. I wish I had a fun or at least admirable story for it but I don’t. I really don’t even have an “admirable” injury.

I sprained my finger.

Oh good grief. So I can still do normal stuff, right? Weeeeell, kind of and not really.

What happened was that I crack my knuckles when they get stiff. This time I wasn’t paying attention though and was just pushing the knuckle down again and again despite the fact that it wasn’t popping. It took a bit to realize my finger was really hurting. By that point the damage had been done.

image

Oddly enough, the injured knuckle wasn’t the one I was pushing (the one by the nail); it was the large knuckle closer to the hand that got injured. I can’t bend the finger well. Not broken or dislocated but painful and swelling.

I thought I just made the finger a bit sore at first and kept on like I normally did. It wasn’t until I was done cleaning the bathroom (including scrubbing the tub) that I realized I must’ve done more damage than initially suspected.

The finger was swollen and so painful!

So I ice it at various times throughout the day and try not to use it. I took Ibuprofen yesterday though not today. Not using it did ‘t work so I taped it to a buddy finger. It seemed less melodramatic than using the popsickle stick and making it look broken.

image

I can now do mostly normal things but it’s more difficult for obvious reasons. I figure I’m doing well though because I can tie my shoes. It’s a big accomplishment for me.

I’m not whining or complaining. Telling the story to my mom I was actually laughing. I find my stupidity hilarious. Better that than being negative.

By the way, the way to deal with sprains is RICE.

  • R – Rest
  • I – Ice
  • C – Compress
  • E – Elevate

Ever get an injury by doing something lame?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

