Why Buying New Clothes/Shoes May Help Your Fitness

Has a woman ever needed an excuse to shop? Stereotypically speaking of course.

Be-A-Smart-Shopper

For those of us who do need a reason (or at least a reason to give our s/o), there are studies that show that awesome clothes can make us work harder fitness-wise.

“A study by researchers at Northwestern University found that clothing influences us mentally as well as physically – a phenomenon they’ve termed ‘enclothed cognition.’ … Your attention to an activity like exercise increases when you are wearing clothing designed for that task. And dressing in clothes you love gives you subconscious motivation that can boost performance.”

Study coauthor – Adam Galinsky, Ph.D.

Self October 2014 Flash article by Sara Angle

Yay! A super good excuse to buy clothes! And shoes! You didn’t think shoes were exempt from this study, did you? I don’t know if they added shoes to their study but I do know it has the same effect as the clothes.

30aedbb8de3e6084a25e21229d630d61

Yep, I’ve tested it. I wasn’t actually conducting a study of my own or anything. I just needed new running shoes. I couldn’t wait to try them out! And then, when they felt absolutely wonderful, I wanted to run more often.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See? Totally works. I so want to buy new clothes now! … As if I ever don’t want to buy new clothes.

Check out my Pinterest “Fashion” board to see the sorts of clothes/shoes I like.

 

Have you ever bought something thinking it’d help your fitness? Did it?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Interesting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

