Week 4 of Frisky Fall, Sunday Posts, and Races I Want To Do

I began Tone It Up’s Frisky Fall Fitness Challenge halfway through the 1st week but did all right keeping up. I did really well the 2nd week. The 3rd week, however, kinda went downhill as my shins really hurt (I have issues with them) from the mileage and then I got a shoulder injury.

The challenge isn’t even halfway done though so there’s still hope for me. Though I may stay a bit on the lighter side with the cardio, I’m doing my best to keep up with the strength training.

Here’s the schedule for the 4th week:

  • Monday – 30-min run, Frisky Fall Full Body Routine, Malibooty Workout
  • Tuesday – Sunrise Routine, Frisky Fall Arms & Abs routine
  • Wednesday – HIIT Routine, Flat Fit Sexy Abs
  • Thursday – 3-mile run, Frisky Fall Foam Roller Routine
  • Friday – Frisky Fall Routine, The Best Ab Routine
  • Saturday – My Favorite Activity, My Choice of Given Routines
  • Sunday – 5k

Sundays always have the 5k and I never do it. Sundays are my day off and I have no time away from my family when I can conveniently do it. Also, my son may last for 2 miles on a hike but he can’t manage 3.1 miles yet.

On another note, I’ll be too busy to post on Sundays so I’ll be moving that weekly post to Monday instead. I’m also going to hold back to just one post a week instead of two. I just don’t have much to say these days.

One thing I want to whine and sigh about is a desire I’ve had for about 3 years now – I really want to do a Warrior Dash or a Spartan race.

image

image

Always the same things come up to keep me from participating:

  • money
  • location
  • shoulder weakness

They’re all big reasons but my shoulders are the deciding factor. I tore the rotator cuff in my left shoulder about 2-3 years back and, although I got my strength back, it always twinges a bit if I push it too hard. Now my right shoulder is giving me problems as well. How am I supposed to climb walls and ropes, etc if I can’t rely on my shoulders to support my weight and get me through the obstacle?

It’s very aggravating. That kind of race is my bucket list of things to do in my 30s so I have about 7 more years to do it. 7 more years is a long time to accomplish something so I have no reason to worry about not getting it done right now, but still. I see other people completing these races but I have to stand to the side and can only wish I could participate.

Very frustrating. If I ever am able to do one of those races, I would want to wear blue war paint or something pointing to my Swedish heritage. It’d be fun!!

image

Is there anything you’ve been wanting to do that you can never seem to do?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 29, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

