Success with Omeprazole!

I did it! I managed to get myself off Omeprazole! WOO!

For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s the generic name of the drug Prilosec which is used for really bad heartburn. I’m not talking about the normal heartburn you get every once in a while when you get junk (or just food that doesn’t agree with your body). I’m talking about nearly uncontrollable heartburn that visits you every day (or close to it) and revels in your pain.

999471-Omeprazole-20mg-28ct-front

The doctor told me the side effects of the drug but I didn’t have much choice at the time because nothing else was working and I was beginning to mix antacids in “large” doses. What my doctor didn’t tell me was that when I tried to stop using it after long-term use, I would instantly get seriously nasty heartburn every day for awhile.

WTF??!!

After several failed attempts to rid myself of my drug crutch, I finally managed it! It took about 2 weeks of a diet of miso soup, fish, rice, oatmeal, grapes, tea, smoothies, and TUMS. The amount of TUMS in the beginning was over the recommended daily dosage but I was able to scale down each day.

It’s been about 3 weeks or so and TUMS still goes with me everywhere I go because nearly every time I eat I get heartburn but it’s only 1 tablet of the ultra strength and I’m right as rain.

tums_19556_8_(big)_

Considering my heartburn started because of a physical deficiency (I don’t have a working sphincter where my stomach meets my esophagus), I’ll probably never be without TUMS, but at least it’s only 1 tablet after most meals/snacks. Could be worse. Much worse.

Mornings are pretty easy. It’s the afternoons/evenings when the TUMS comes into play.

I’m just glad to be off the Omeprazole. Yay! Success!

What’s your go-to antacid?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 21, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Woohoo! Good for you! 😀
    Every now and again (usually right before my period), my heartburn gets bad enough that I almost reach for omep again. Then I remind myself how awful it was to come off of, how much the vit. D deficiency sucked, and I snuggle up with Tums and a bland diet.
    Way to go!

    • hehe I’ll keep reminding myself how much money I’m saving not buying Omeprazole all the time. Store brand TUMS is much cheaper despite the fact that I’ll need to carry it around with me for forever. Besides, the minty kind is like a breath mint. 😉 2 for 1! Woo!

  2. I had been on omeprazole or pantoprazole for 7.5 years- and just recently switched to ranitidine. The ‘zoles’ have been making me exhausted, without realizing what was causing it. Changing to the ranitidine is the only different thing since my decrease in fatigue. I’m disabled anyway – but at least I’ve been able to get a few things done since the change OFF of omeprazole. 🙂

    • Yeah, ultimately I like being off of omeprazole. I carry TUMS with me everywhere but it’s a small price to pay and at least they give me some muc needed calcium. 😉

      • I’m using Zantac with good results. I still use Tums now and then, but the Zantac (ranitidine) is a good ‘background’, steady med 🙂

      • I used to use Zantac to good effect, but my heartburn was getting out of hand until none of the regular meds worked. That’s the only reason I moved to Omeprazole. It was a difficult time. Diet changes and patience helped but it was still difficult. I only use the peppermint TUMs now. That cold feeling it creates in my stomach helps a ton. The berry flavored don’t work as well. 😦 Too bad. They’re yummy.

Leave a Reply

