Frisky Fall, Yoga, and Abrasions

Halfway through the 2nd week of the Frisky Fall Fitness Challenge from Tone It Up. How am I feeling?

SORE!!!

But good.

Here’s another great place to keep up with the week’s activities: Frisky Fall. It’s one of Tone It Up’s boards on Pinterest.

I wish I had internet at home so I could follow their videos. But, alas, I don’t so I can’t do some of their exact workouts like Tuesday’s Bikini Yoga routine. I watched the video though and found a DVD at the library that seems to be a good substitute. They’re not the same, of course, but at least I found a fun yoga DVD!

Calorie Killer Yoga (with Colleen Saidman)

image

“Award-winning yoga instructor Colleen Saidman leads five energizing practices that will increase metabolism, strength, flexibility, balance, and focus – all keys to maintaining a healthy mind and body. Each practice builds to the next, increasing the cardio challenge as you progress.”

Here are the 5 routines:

  • Constant Cardio (20min)
  • Energy & Endurance (25min)
  • Sustained Burn (25min)
  • Rise & Shine (15min)
  • Balance & Restore (20min)

I chose Constant Cardio. She went a little fast but I caught on soon enough. I had issues with swinging my arms up and down so quickly because I was injured yesterday.

I’d like to say that I threw myself on barbed wire to save my son from imminent doom and torturous pain…but that’s not what happened.

I had just finished the running portion of Insane Cardio

and was picking my son up from school. He wanted to run down the field to another gate so I was standing on the curb by the car, keeping an eye on him to make sure he was okay. Sooooo I was exhausted and not paying attention to what I was doing aaaaaand I opened the door and the corner whacked me in the shoulder.

It’s not as if this has never happened before. I expected a bruise at the worst but usually all I get is brief pain and then I forget all about it because there’s no mark. Not so in this case obviously.

My husband freaked out when he saw it a couple hours later. By that point it didn’t even hurt. I put a bandaid on it and stopped caring. But he acted like my arm was going to fall off and dashed us all off to the hospital where there’s a walk-in clinic. If there hadn’t been a clinic, he would’ve rushed me to the ER. No joke. That was his first idea.

The doctor glued it up with some purple glue (way cool) and sent me on my way.

So swinging my arms around kinda hurts right now because it stretches the skin. But, all in all, I really enjoyed this yoga routine. It was fun.

Do you have any scars? Do they have good stories?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 17, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

