Frisky Fall Challenge From Tone It Up

As of last week Monday, Tone It Up began their Frisky Fall Fitness Challenge. It’s an 8-week fitness challenge. Registration is free. Just sign up for their free newsletter and you’re e-mailed your weekly instructions/plan every Sunday.

Every time you finish a challenge (which is every day), you check in on Instagram, Twitter, etc. Every time you check in, you enter to win a drawing (I believe). In my mind the whole check-in thing can get complicated because there are different places they mention to do so but, since I have no expectation of winning anything I don’t mind it so much.

You take pictures of your workouts, yourself, your food, etc and post them up with the appropriate hashtags for other Tone It Up members and participants to see. This also includes the dreaded “Before” pic of yourself when you start. But if you don’t want people to see your “Before” pic, you can always send it directly to the ladies in charge (Karena and Katrina) in an e-mail.

Detailed instructions for all of this on the website – Tone It Up Frisky Fall Challenge.

My main hope is that this will get me back in the game exercise-wise. I also wanted to see if I could complete their 100 miles by Halloween goal.

Put simply: you’re supposed to go 100 miles by Halloween. You can walk them, run them, bike them, swim them, etc. They’re not very particular about how you get your miles just so long as you get them. The numbers are different though if you bike or swim them. Biking will have you dividing by 3 (ex: biked 9 miles = 3 miles for challenge); swimming will have you multiplying by 3 (ex: swam 1 mile = 3 miles for challenge). However, if you do other methods like dancing or something to get “miles” in, they say it’s safe to assume about 10-15 minutes of hard cardio will equal about 1 mile.

I printed out a nifty tracking sheet that 2Kandis on Tone It Up made for the challenge. It made me remember when I was working as an ALT in Japan (assistant language teacher in a school) and made newsletters for the kids in my classes.

image

I haven’t been able to keep up with it as well as I had hoped (a few set backs at home and I started the challenge on Wednesday instead of Monday), but I’ve at least gotten in 6 miles. We’ll see how far I can get.

For the rest of the workouts, I did the leg workouts on Thursday (1st day I could) and have since needed the use of the handicap bar to sit on the toilet.

Whoa.

Do you think you can do 100 “miles” by Halloween? Wanna try?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 14, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I got all excited about doing this with you…and then I I looked at the exercises and such and wanted to die. Plus, I’m supposed to be taking it “easy” as far as pushing myself. I’m still considering, though.

    • hehehe Yeah, it doesn’t seem to be for the faint of heart or the faint of body. However, there are always ways to tone things down. Instead of running, walk; when they call for high intensity moves, change them to low intensity; use lighter weights; decrease # of reps. You can even try for 50 miles instead of 100. So instead of 2 miles a day, aim for 1. You can mix up the miles too – instead running or walking them all, dance your little heart out or use an elliptical if you have access to one. It would be perfectly acceptable to lower your mileage considering your past injuries and your particular bodily issues. If you find yourself hurting too much, take a breather. Maybe focus on stretching that day or light yoga. Skip the cardio or stop at 1/2 a mile. It would be a good challenge for you if you halved the intensity.

      • I’ve thought about lowering the intensity, but I think the draw was to be doing the same thing at the same time. Not competing, exactly, just…co-fitness. Make it a little more social, even if it technically wouldn’t be. 🙂 I’m pretty sure if I halved (or less) the intensity, I’d feel like I was wimping out in comparison and then get all depressed and down on myself for not being able to keep up. Even though you’re leagues ahead of me, fitness-wise, I’m pretty sure it would still happen.

        Besides, I’m supposed to be taking it easy this month. No pressure. That challenge is certainly pressure! You go kick its ass, and I will marvel at your success when you’re finished. 😀

      • lol Okay. Oddly enough, I understand and empathize. I’ll do my best to kick this challenge’s butt. That way I’ll know exactly how difficult it all is and can make changes as necessary to add to your workout options. Changes are always nice when it comes to exercise else it gets super boring and your body gets too used to it so it doesn’t work as well. MUWHAHAHAHAHHAHA!!!!!

Leave a Reply

