Life Is Funny…Not

Life is funny but I’m not altogether amused by/with it.

It’s amazing the coincidences that can pop up. A few posts ago I wrote about sleep and why we need it (aptly titled Sleep and Why We Need It). Then about two days ago I was hit by a bout of insomnia.

Nothing is surer to drive me nuttier than squirrel dung than not being able to sleep.

bd35501e1756e380d5f9d2639803a2be

What made it worse was that I was extremely tired from having been awake since 6am and having had to deal with 1st day of school issues with my son. Neither of us had any issues dropping him off at school. I stayed about 5 minutes with him and he was fine. It’s what he told me he did, or didn’t do as the case was, at school that got me on edge.

d79c58b0aff73ef69d2eda13f19509ee

So the afternoon was a bit taxing on my emotions and I was tired from exercise and from being awake for so long. But I laid in bed for 3 hours feeling tired tired tired, but being unable to fall asleep.

I wanted to cry.

I moved to the couch where I could use my sound machine and I managed to fall asleep for short increments. But I kept waking up then because my position kept sending sharp, shooting pain through my hips. No way to really fix it but I managed well enough.

My poor husband though. I ended up snapping and yelling at him about dishes yesterday. Then I burst out into huge sobs like I haven’t done in I don’t know when. Told him what was really wrong – the heartburn and insomnia. Guy babied me the rest of the day. Every time I laid down I’d hold onto his forefinger like he’d disappear.

Luckily, though it took awhile to fall asleep again last night, I persevered and did it! WOO!!

8073aa20588ec6c820c25fc517420ea2

Oh yeah, about that heartburn comment. I’m on another round of getting off of Omeprazole. I think I’m succeeding this time. Today’s the end of week #1 and each day gets a little better. It’s the nights that are the hardest, but last night was pretty good.

People have told me home remedies for heartburn. I thought they were nuts and I really don’t know if it’s true or not but this herbologist lady swore it works.

88b146e6e4622ad44c49303486207b61

  • mix 1 tsp apple cider vinegar with 1c water
  • drink about 30 min before eating to prevent heartburn

It seemed to work but, then, I was eating denjangjigae (Korean miso-type soup) which is full of probiotics to aid with digestion anyway so I’m not sure how helpful the apple cider vinegar was.

In any case, it’s worth a try, especially at night when I need it most.

Do you know of any home remedies for heartburn? What do you do when you can’t sleep?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 7, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I get premenstrual insomnia. It’s a killer. Like I don’t have enough hormonal issues to worry about, I need to add lack of sleep (or restful sleep) on top of it? BLEH. Heartburn always contributes for me, too. I get really bad reflux while I sleep sometimes, which wakes me up with breathing issues, sinus issues, issues issues. I eat a cup of yogurt as part of my going-to-bed routine, and that helps. Largely because, like you’ve mentioned, I get NASTY heartburn when my stomach is empty, and the protein and probiotics help stave that off.

    Good luck with chucking the omep! My rebound heartburn went away after about two weeks. Those two weeks SUCKED, but it was worth it in the end (even though it felt like surely I must be burning holes in my esophagus…). I almost never have to take Tums anymore. If I’ve eaten badly during the day, I still have to pop a couple right before bed, but it’s so wonderful not to have to carry them with me everywhere I go. 😀

    • I guess there’s hope in sight then. Sometimes I want to cry and bang my head against the wall because I’m so tired of my stomach being on fire all the time. I have to be so careful about what I eat and everything. The hubby’s not very helpful – he tries to encourage me and everything but he acts like it’s the most simple thing to do, as if I have a normal esophagus/stomach that will react in a normal way to normal things. Ugh. Hard to get him to understand that this may be as good as it’s gonna get. Blech! What an awful thought! O_o

Leave a Reply

