Moving Slowly Into Push-Ups

It may have happened that someone didn’t warm up one more…or more than one morning…before jumping into 20 full push-ups. It may have happened that someone tweaked a muscle in her back so she couldn’t move well for a couple days. There may even have been familial witnesses to this act of stupidity and the subsequent consequences.

I’m not saying it happened. But it could have happened.

Somewhere out there.

To someone.

Not me of course. Would I ever skip a warm-up and go cold turkey doing an exercise I worked my butt off to be able to do? Nooooooooo. Never. I’ve never skipped cooldowns and stretches either.

a79d8a5d51db50c1e416e2e2aa24073b

After…this person’s…back started feeling better, she moved back a ways on push-ups. Not in number, that actually increased. No, in form.

She remembered, not a workout, but a plan she found on Pinterest that helped ease a person into 20 full push-ups.

35548267fc7ed4d4cd9cfe5028748e02

So she plans to take it easy for awhile and work her way back up to the 20 push-ups. The 50 wall push-ups, while a lot in number (and hard on the elbows if you have tendonitis), aren’t so bad. Well, they are if you have difficulty with push-ups of any sort, but they’re not that bad if you think of other modifications for doing push-ups.

I would say if you can’t reach the full 50 in one go, stop when you have to and do one of a few things:

  • stop entirely and try again the next day and the next, each day aiming for a higher number
  • stop for a short rest and continue on after a minute or so, work in increments
  • break it all up for different times of the day such as morning, afternoon, and night

Me? If I can’t do something (like get to a certain rep or do a certain exercise), I’ll do as many as I can (or do as well as I can) and then wait maybe half the day and do it again. Then I’ll do it again the next day and the next. Each day I see improvement.

For these moves I would keep on doing them until I’m comfortable with each section and then move on to the next and I would endeavor to keep at it every day.

It sounds like a lot of work but it doesn’t take that much time to do.

And to supplement the exercises and increase muscle mass everywhere else in the arms (easier to gain muscle and better toning, less risk of injury, etc), here’s an upper body workout from Tone It Up (sorry for the length):

BS14-Printable-Bikini-Arms-Routine-Bikini-Series-Tone-It-Up-1

I used this workout earlier in the summer and it was very enjoyable. Depending on the weight of your dumbbells, it can be difficult but the moves are so simple and take so little time that the workout flies by…at least for me. I use lighter weights for my shoulders and heavier weights for everything else.

And don’t forget to warm up before you start exercising! Even if you’re pressed for time. You’ll regret it if you don’t and get injured.

What’s your favorite upper body exercise?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 4, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

