Banana Bread

51bR7h05iKL

Today’s Deceptively Delicious recipe is Banana Bread. The hidden ingredient?

Cauliflower

My son LOVES it! He obviously has no idea what’s in the bread other than bananas. The book even says that (despite the brown sugar in it), it works for any time of day, from breakfast to snack to dessert.

WHAT?! Breakfast? How can that be?? Well, it does have cauliflower and bananas in it…

DSC_0146

(I didn’t get a pic of the full loaf because we immediately dug in and I forgot till after it was half-gone.)

In pararenthesis are the changes I made for a gluten/dairy-free version that I could eat (except the olive oil which is merely the kind of oil we always have).

Ingredients:

  • Nonstick cooking spray (fake butter)
  • 3/4c whole-wheat flour (brown rice flour)
  • 1/2c all-purpose flour (allergen-free)
  • 1/2tsp baking soda
  • 1/4tsp baking powder
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1/2tsp cinnamon opt
  • 1/2c firmly packed light or dark brown sugar
  • 1/4c canola or vegetable oil (olive oil)
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 1/2c banana puree
  • 1/2c cauliflower puree
  • 1tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Coat 9×5″ loaf pan, or 2 mini pans, with cooking spray (fake butter).
  2. In bowl or zipper-lock bag, mix flours with baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon, if using. Set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, mix sugar and oil until well combined. Mix in egg whites, banana and cauliflower purees, and vanilla. Add flour mixture and mix just until combined.
  4. Pour batter into loaf pan. Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean, 55-60 minutes for the large loaf, 25-30 minutes for the mini loaves. Let cool on a rack for 5 minutes, then turn the bread out of the pan to cool before serving.

It’s absolutely delicious!! My son is really constipated all the time too so it’s super helpful in helping him poop.

What’s your favorite kind of sweet bread?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 31, 2014, in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Unique idea of adding the cauliflower puree to banana bread, I’m surely giving it a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

