Sweet Potato Pancakes

My son is inhumanly stubborn about what he’ll eat. I thought my husband and I were stubborn (and we seriously are) but the Turdlet far surpasses us. If he doesn’t want to eat something, he’ll starve himself until he starts throwing up and can no longer easily eat anything.

So how to feed veggies to someone who will starve himself before he touches a veggie?

My cousin solved my dilemma and I love her forever for it.

Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld

51bR7h05iKL

In it are “normal” recipes that most kids love. They all have secret ingredients though that kids can’t taste – veggies and fruit. The secret is to puree them.

I’ve never tried pureeing before, even when my son was a baby. Other mothers pureed their baby’s food; I bought Gerbers. It probably would’ve been cheaper to puree, but I’m still happy I bought Gerbers. Less fuss and easier to take on trips.

It’d difficult to puree with a blender by the way. I’m hoping to buy a food processor soon because this pureeing veggies thing and hiding it in the food actually works.

I’ve tried 2 recipes so far because they’re easy and I wanted to test this stuff out to see if it worked on the Turdlet before getting tons of ingredients to do more complicated recipes. So far my son looked at the Deviled Eggs (delicious by the way) and said, “Ew! Gross!” He wouldn’t touch them but I figured he wouldn’t. I made those for myself and my husband. The Sweet Potato Pancakes, however, he ADORES.

So! Here it is!

DSC_0112

Ingredients:

  • 1c water (I use Silk Vanilla Almond Milk Protein & Fiber)
  • 1/2c sweet potato puree
  • 1/4tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice (opt)
  • 1c pancake mix (I use Bisquick Pancake and Baking Mix – Gluten-Free)
  • nonstick cooking spray (opt in my mind)
  • 1tbsp canola or vegetable oil (I use olive oil)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix the water (almond milk), sweet potato puree, and cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice (if using). Add pancake mix and stir just to combine – the batter should be lumpy.
  2. Coat a griddle or large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and set it over med-high heat. When pan is hot, add oil, and spoon the batter onto griddle or pan, using 1/4c batter for each pancake.
  3. Cook until bubbles form on top of pancakes and the batter is set, 2-3 minutes. Then use spatula to flip pancakes and cook them until golden brown on the other side, 2-3 minutes.

Oddly enough my son doesn’t sticky syrup all over his pancakes so he eats them plain. I, however, like a little butter on mine to liven the flavor so I spread fake butter on them. I use the light buttery spread that has flaxseed oil from Smart Balance. I can’t say for sure if it tastes like butter because I haven’t had butter in so long but I think it does.

My son’s favorite pancakes are chocolate chip pancakes so I add about 1/4c of chocolate chips into the batter after I’ve cooked about half of it so my husband and I don’t have to have them.

I’ll be trying different recipes soon.

How do you get a stubborn person to eat right?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 24, 2014, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oooh! I forgot about Deceptively Delicious! It came out when I worked at Borders and for two or three weeks, 90% of the customers looking for help were looking for it. We’d only get like ten or fifteen at a time, so we were ALWAYS out. I might have to pick up a copy. Those pancakes sound super tasty.

    • They were! They were a hit with everyone. Later on I made banana bread, deviled eggs, and applesauce muffins from that book and they were all hits too. My son even asked if I would make more banana bread. It had cauliflower in it! My mom hates cauliflower but I tricked her into eating the bread and she loved it so much that when I told her the secret ingredient later she still wanted to eat the bread. muwhahahaha!!!!

Leave a Reply

