Playing in the Pool

Can you believe I had to make a deal with my son just to get him to go to his swimming lesson the other day?

image

Ridiculous! He LOVES being in the pool.

The differences between playing in the pool and having a swim lesson:

  • he can wear his yellow goggles (face mask that covers his nose)
  • swim lesson is only 15 minutes long
  • he wears a life jacket to play in the pool and so can paddle around all by himself as much as he wants

When he asked if he was going to swim in the pool, I misunderstood and said yes but then realized he meant playing in the pool in our complex so I said no, we were doing a lesson with his teacher.

He got super excited and then he crumpled when I corrected myself and he started crying. It literally took 1-2 seconds. Wow. He refused to go to his swim lesson so I made a deal with him that if he went to his lesson in the morning then I’d take him to play in the pool in the afternoon after lunch.

After awhile he agreed and then, just as I thought, was super excited to have his lesson (his excitement had nothing to do with the deal). Our weather has been in the triple digits for weeks now, ever since mid-July so it was a good day to splash in the cool water anyway.

The last time I took my son to the pool, I made up an impromptu workout. Sure enough, the next day my arms and legs felt a bit sore. It wasn’t a hard workout or anything though.

This time I did a pre-made pool workout from Self.com. Naturally, I couldn’t remember how many times or long I was supposed to do each move so I did the amount I thought appropriate. It was refreshing and different and my son thought it was super fun to do it with me. “We’re doing our exercises, Mommy!”

I did 4 sets of the entire thing, alternating between the cardio and the strength training. 1 minute for each cardio move and 20 reps for each strength training move.

Naturally when I went to look it up online, I couldn’t find the exact one I did (though the above link I gave brought up the right cardio) and I forgot to take a pic of the magazine page I have. It had ab work, chest presses, and hamstring curls though.

Here’s another workout, however, that looks fun that I think I’ll try the next time I go to the pool.

image

I also did a lot of active playing/swimming in the pool as well. No rest for me in the water!

I’m not much of a sunbather (skin cancer! Hello!) but I think I enjoyed sunbathing as much as my pool time. It was enjoyable to relax and let the sun bake me dry while I kept a hawk eye on my son in the water.

And, yes, though I don’t normally wear sunscreen when I go outside, I always put sunscreen on my son and I when we go to the pool.

After washing both of us and our swim clothes, all I wanted was to lie down and sleep. When I stay outside for extended periods of time, I always get so sleepy! I don’t understand this.

image

It takes a ton of hard exercise to feel that tired or about 30 minutes in the company of practically anyone (introvert over here; social situations are exhausting).

Does being out in the sun for a long time make you sleepy?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 20, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have the same problem! Had it today, in fact. 🙂 Basic little interval jogging just about did me in ’cause of the sun. And then I went swimming to cool off (gadzooks – it’s been over a year since I did that. Oof!), showered, had lunch, and pretty much passed out. The exercise should have made me tired, but not collapsing exhausted. Doesn’t matter how hard (or easy) I work while I’m out there – the sun does me in every time.

Leave a Reply

