Time for a Hair Cut

It’s that time again. After about 2 years, I’ve gotten my hair cut. And I mean CUT. We’re not talking trims to even out hair and get rid of split ends. We’re talking my son’s swim teacher coming up to start the lesson and doing a double-take when she sees my face because she didn’t know it was me sitting with him.

Yeah. I got a haircut.

Here was me after 2 years of growing my hair out so I could put it in braids again:

image

Now here I am:

image

Voila! I’m a different person. Hair magic!

Was I nervous?

No, I wasn’t nervous. I’ve done this sort of thing about 4 times before. I’ve known since I was in high school or younger that hair is one of the only impermanent changes you can make to your body. So if you’re desperate for some kind of change in your life, don’t get a tattoo or spend lots of moola on your clothes or shoes, do something to your hair! If you don’t like how it looks, shrug it off, make a joke to your friends/colleages, and move on. It’ll grow out.

Why did I get this drastic haircut?

I loved putting french braids in my hair. I had actually gotten decent at it. Lots of side problems with that though that I won’t go into. So I’d put it in ponytails and buns and pigtails. More problems I won’t go into. And the amount of time I had to take it to make it look nice without braids? ugh. Then it would never stay styled anyway and it would poof out into a lion’s mane.

I was getting so annoyed with my hair that I decided while doing my cardio on Friday that I was going to get it all cut off and then I wouldn’t have to worry about it anymore.

BAM! Problems solved.

This kind of haircut has problems as well (mainly that my ears itch from where the hair ends on them), but it’s soooo much better to manage. Now I no longer have to worry about my hair when I exercise! And the rest of the time I can just run gel through it and voila! Done.

In other news, the tendenitis in my left thumb is acting up again. ARGH! My thumb hurts!!! And the air in town is smoky smoky smoky.

Do you think it takes bravery to chop off a foot or more of hair? Would you do it?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 12, 2014, in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

