Husband Gives the Cold Hard Truth

Yeah, my weight and belly had gotten way out of hand despite my exercise. My husband gave me what-for and told me I needed to eat less and only eat certain foods.

How did this subject come up? Despite being on daily Omeprazole I was getting heartburn in the afternoon and night again. Ew! How serious things were getting if I was getting heartburn even with the heavy duty antacids. I didn’t think that was even possible.

So now I’m on a very strict diet to get my appetite and stomach acid under control.

Since I don’t know what all will trigger me, I’m sticking to the most basic foods I already know are safe.

  • protein smoothie
  • oatmeal w/granola
  • bananas
  • salmon (but only with other food, preferably smoothie)
  • miso soup (except with denjang which is really the same thing but denjang is made in South Korea and miso is made in Japan)
  • various veggies (mushrooms, carrots, green beans, black olives, peas)
  • eggs (scrambled and mixed with lots of other food)
  • ground turkey
  • rice
  • barley tea
  • coffee

Yeah, mostly it’s just oatmeal for breakfast, smoothie and fish for lunch, and miso soup with whatever rice-thing is available for dinner. Coffee for morning snack (yeah, I know this can give heartburn but I currently don’t want to live without it). Banana for afternoon snack if I get hungry.

I know for healthy eating reasons I should have a snack after dinner if I get hungry, but eating after 6pm gives me heartburn so I’m sticking with barley tea for my evening “snack.”

So far it’s worked wonders. After 3 days I’ve lost weight and kept my appetite under control. It’s not a gross diet and I’m never really hungry either! Until near meal time of course.

(Side Note: Watching George of the Jungle. Can I just say something? Young Brendan Frasier? Wearing loincloth throughout almost the whole movie? OH. MY. GOD! Even wearing loose suit clothes. OH. MY. GOD! This does not mean I’m not a fan of present-day Brendan Frasier. I have always been a big fan. He’s HOT!)

What do you do to keep heartburn away?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 7, 2014, in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

