Gettin’ My Yoga On

Some years ago when I was working as a sub at a preschool, I was “injured.” I developed a tendency to carry all my stress in my neck and a particular incident at the school carried my stress overboard so I ended up at the chiropractor after 3 full days of nonstop neck pain.

image

It was awful. Not the chiropractor (who rocked by the way) but the neck pain. And the job. That wasn’t the best school. Luckily a woman who worked with my mom at the time had had a baby and needed to get back to work so I left to take care of their chubby little monkey.

Actually, he wasn’t much like a monkey but like a gas-powered godzilla.

image

He farted so much we called him the Putt-Putt Baby and joked that we could throw him out the window and his farts would bring him back up like a jet.

Putt putt putt putt putt putt putt putt…

image

Anyway, I taught myself how to crack my neck (probably not the best thing) while I took care of her baby because I wasn’t able to get to the chiropractor (I had to leave home and live with my parents because they lived closer to this woman). But it wasn’t enough and I was advised to take up some kind of exercise or activity that worked the kinks out of my neck and calmed me. The doctor suggested yoga.

So I’ve done it off and on and usually feel better when I do it on a normal basis. I prefer certain yoga classes that were at my last gym but I no longer have access there and I have no internet access at my home so I’m going to have to fall back on DVDs.

Here’s the problem:

I haven’t found a DVD that I really like. So far they’re just so-so. Either they’re too focused on strength or they’re boring instead of relaxing.

Yoga with Adriene on YouTube has some good stuff but, like I said, I have no internet connection at home.

Right now I’m having to stick with printed out pictures of individual poses.image

These are good too but I still want to find a good DVD.

Do you have any suggestions for yoga DVDs?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on August 2, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

