Smoke and Heat

My how plans can change. I had a lovely plan for this last week. It went as follows: every morning I’d take my son out to the park where he would ride his bike while I jogged/walked with him; then he’d play on the playground there while I did my strength training on the playground equipment; home for lunch; library in the afternoon.

It was a wonderful plan. We’d get exercise, play time, fresh air and sunlight, internet, books…

What I didn’t count on was the oh-so-excessive heat and smoke. It’s the reason why I hate summer. I used to love this season. Sure, it’s usually too hot and that bumped it out of 1st place for seasons with me (Spring is my favorite by the way), but at least hot was better than freezing…at least for me.

image

Until 2 summers ago when Wenatchee was blotted from the world by smoke. Now every summer thunderstorms terrify me. Smoke sends me into a senseless panic.

image

I was one of the lucky ones that awful summer because I was able to leave for about 2-3 weeks. True, there was still a ton of smoke when I came back but it was on the mend and I think it only took another week or so before it had cleared up entirely.

Now the smoke is back. I won’t make the same mistake I did last time – exercising hard every day despite the deadly air.

My son and I got one day in of our plan. There was smoke in the air but it wasn’t all that bad. What caused us to cut our morning outside time short was the heat. When it’s too much even for a kid who hasn’t had a lot of outside time lately and loves to run and climb, you know it’s too much.

Even my husband was laid up from it. He came home from work hours early with watermelon and Powerade bottles freshly bought from the store. Then he spent the rest of the afternoon napping because he had a raging headache and his stomach hurt. When I touched him, it felt like his skin was burning. Overheated.

image

I’ve spent the rest of the week laying low. We’ve gone to the library and a story time at Wenatchee Free Methodist Church, but have otherwise stayed in with the air conditioner on. No extraneous trips out of doors.

Looking forward to rain with no thunder/lightning and to a change in wind. Hoping the firefighters can clear up this mess (these messes actually because there are numerous fires around us…again) soon.

(NOTE: Since writing this post, the weather has cleared up quite nicely. The fires are still around but at least my town is getting a smoke reprieve for the time-being. Here’s hoping it’ll last because I’m going out again to exercise starting tomorrow.)

How do you survive when it’s smokey out?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on July 20, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

