Fitness Mash-Up

Last week was pure Blogilates magic.

It kicked my a$$.

I chose 4 different routines from Blogilates.com.

And one day of using Tone It Up’s Excited For Spring cardio routine because I was celebrating my last gym day and wanted to take advantage of the plethora of cardio machines.

There are times my forearms have difficulty with plank-y exercises so I had difficulty with some of the moves in the upper body and core routines. It all started with Downward Dog in Yoga class over a year ago. I don’t know what happened but it happened over time and I’ve had pain in the tendons above the wrist (inner side) ever since. I find ways to modify but they may not be completely safe ways for everyone so I won’t mention them.

This week I’m back to a mash-up between Tone It Up and Blogilates. My problem is that there are so many routines I want to try and I hate waiting to try them. I want to do them all at once! But that would so totally not work. So I choose the routines that I most want to try even if they’re not all from the same site. If you haven’t guessed it, Tone It Up and Blogilates are my favorite fitness sites.

Here’s what I’ll be doing this week:

Cardio: Food Baby HIIT Workout

5368557bc5db7904126271da60d613c2

Lower Body: Thigh Trimmer and Butt Lifter

6947738503098d7a35f7fc337cdd39a9

Upper Body: Pura Vida

0a6a171037b0b8f5414b68a9c5d7d7a8

Core: Sleek and Slender Abs

76c5ee113a8cf5459d0a167cce86e718

This last routine I’ve stuck in because I want some extra arm work. Also the additional core work it has just looks too fun to pass up. I may or may not do the recommended # of sets considering I do have the other arms and core routines.

Extra Upper Body/Core: Love Your Arms & Abs

Printable-Tone-It-Up-Karena-Katrina-LYB2-JPG

I need to measure myself. My belly is feeling and looking bigger than usual. Full and solid and fat. I’m thinking it’s my diet but I’m not sure if that’s all it is or if it’s connected to my exercise as well. My decreased cardio I mean, not the routines I’m doing now.

Can beans make someone fatter even if you only eat, like, ¼ cup a day? I’ve finally found a great source of fiber. I’d hate to have to give it up because it’s blowing my gut up. I feel like the Pillsbury Dough Girl.

What’s your favorite food for fiber?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on June 22, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Beans CAN cause major bloat for a lot of people. If you’re cooking them yourself, I read somewhere that you can diminish the effect by rinsing them thoroughly first. There are yoga poses designed to relieve air pressure in the intestines, and there might be a natural sort of gas-x you could pair with them to counterbalance the problem. Simply increasing your fiber content can do it, too, especially if you stepped it up pretty fast, but your body will eventually get used to the change. That’s for air bloat.

    If the beans are pre-made, they might include a lot of salt you’re not used to, which can cause you to retain water. Drinking more water can help with that. It can also help with any constipation that increased fiber can sometimes cause.

    Nutritionally, they won’t make you “fatter,” in the sense that you’ll have extra fat to work off (unless you eat a ton of them). But yeah, even small doses might make you feel pudgier. Fiber’s important, though, so it might be worth it to deal with the bloat for a while to see if your body adjusts.

    • pfffffffffffffffffffffffffft!

      How mature am I!

      Good to know! The beans were pre-made. Bush’s baked beans. Super yummy.

      Now I need to adopt my old valley girl accent. Clear throat.
      “Do these beans make my butt look big?”

  2. Mmm. Bush’s baked beans ARE super yummy!

    Looking back over this blog, I envy your kick-buttness. I sprained my ankle (again – though this time it wasn’t my ankle’s fault, it was me not watching where I was walking), and I can’t seem to find any oomph at all to do anything. Looking at those routines makes me go, “Wheeee! Look at all their energy! …I’m gonna go lay down now.” Hehe.

Leave a Reply

