To Keep the Gym Membership or Not

Well! My MS work is all done so now I get to refocus on my Blubbery Butt and my Jello Jiggle.

I’m up three pounds but it could have been a lot worse.

A lot worse.

My gym isn’t holding sway over me the way it used to. It’s difficult to make myself go. It doesn’t seem as welcoming as it used to. Maybe it’s because my son doesn’t go with me and I don’t see my friends there anymore.

I don’t even have my Zumba class there anymore because the teacher is on leave and I don’t care for the sub’s style. I’ve been on the verge of canceling my membership and trying somewhere else or doing my own thing at home but I can’t decide.

Honestly, I have negative feelings toward my gym now though not because it’s a bad gym or anything. There’s nothing wrong with the place. I just have some personal problems with it now. But my son will be out of school soon and the other places I’m looking at don’t have childcare. He loves this gym’s childcare and usually asks at least once a week to go there again.

It would be good to keep the membership and take him every day again so he can keep up with his social skills. Of course then we’d be spending $ every day for the childcare. I’m tempted to chuck it and instead take him swimming and on walks and to playgrounds every day instead.

I like that idea actually. Nix the membership and take him to the park every day to ride his bike etc. It’s not like I don’t know how to exercise on my own. Then when school starts up in the Fall I can look into other gyms. I was leaning toward Anytime Fitness or 24-Hour Fitness because they’re everywhere. I’d have to say goodbye to Zumba class but it’s a price I’m willing to pay because I can always borrow Zumba dvds from the library.

9aba8a2e6636b3991ebaf16afdd5e16c

I’ll get out there and do that Monday if I remember. “If” being the operative word.

After that I’ll do things on my own. I’ll find something new to try every week.

Cardio from Back on Pointe:

43031c1db0a95e0a9bef1db56dd90eb5

Upper body work from Tone It Up (forwarning – it’s long but not complicated):

BS14-Printable-Bikini-Arms-Routine-Bikini-Series-Tone-It-Up-1

Lower body work from Tone It Up:

6d45dbd210e4e3a805716584ece47c98

Core work from Blogilates:

tumblr_lzkifoStcF1r6bk9xo5_500

Cardio and core will be daily while upper body and lower body will be on alternating days. Looks fun!

Do you work best with a gym or without?

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on June 8, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

