Goodbye Muffin Top

04bf179539977958e5b16e93591574ef

Who else has gotten lazy with their core?

Am I the only one? I think I’m surrounded by fibbers.

Actually, I’m probably not surrounded by fibbers; it’s me. I’ve gotten lazy with my whole body. Again. What’s wrong with me???!!!

I’ve been sitting on my butt trying to finish my manuscript like a real writer should.

This means I’ve been literally sitting on my butt at my desk for sometimes hours at a time.

I think my butt has gotten bigger. My left hip is definitely aching for its lack of attention.

Did I ever mention I have hip dysplasia? It’s fun. Actually, it doesn’t bother me in the least. But it does mean my legs from my hips down to my feet curve inward and my hips hurt if I don’t pay attention to them by exercising them on a regular basis.

I was doing really well for the last two years – no hip pain whatsoever. But since I’ve cracked down on my writing, my exercising has gone by the wayside and my hips hurt again.

(By the way, I’m almost done with my rewrite. 3 chapters left and then I go back and edit about 280 pages. Fun.)

(Yeah, I honestly am having a lot of fun.)

I should concentrate on my whole body but right now I want to concentrate on my flabby doughnut belly.

30-Day Core Challenge Infographic

This should be not simple but doable. Easy to understand at least.

It’ll hurt a lot the first week I should think but hopefully after that the burn will be normal. I had surgery about a decade ago that left scars on my abdomen. When I neglect my core exercises, some of the scars get tight and will pull when I start up again. Very painful. After a while they limber up and it’s fine again. I guess it’s just like the hips…except not really.

What makes you neglect your fitness?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on May 25, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I REALLY need to work on my core. I haven’t managed to do much of anything with it since pregnancy 4 years ago. Although I did reconnect muscles to my brain after the c-section; I count that as an important feat. Still, no real strengthening. It’s funny, ’cause my arms are now strong enough I think I could start doing real, full push-ups…except I look like a worm when I try. My core just can’t come along on its own. :/ I might try a baby version of this with you…

    Also, I SO get how hard it is to focus on both exercise and writing. It’s like they use the same brain space. Which is weird, ’cause they don’t seem related at all. 😛

    • hehehe My problem with keeping up with both is the amount of kid-free time I have in the day. It should be easier when my son goes to Kindergarten in the fall. Instead of rushing to cram in everything in 3 hours, I’ll have more like 6 or 7 hours to work with. When I’m on a time crunch like now though, poor little guy has to deal with his mommy always working at her desk in the afternoons.

      Core strength is very important when doing full push-ups. Without it, your middle sinks and your form falls apart. Why not try the modified push-ups on your knees if you want to do push-ups? Or do planks. They’re great for working those deep core muscle tissues while also working your shoulders.

      I had to do 16 push-ups today. My arms and core protested the entire time and I almost sagged at the end. Yuck! I’m so weak! ;_;

Leave a Reply

