Reforming Old Habits

I’m trying to get back into the habit of exercising every day. It’s been difficult because I’ve had so many other things on my mind. It doesn’t look as if those things are done yet (in a good way) so this next week might prove to be difficult as well, but I have at least made the attempt.

In the past I’ve used ActivTrax to help me stay on task and get a great workout. I stopped for a long time because I had a class I loved that left me super sore every time. Since I no longer have that class, I’ve started up my ActivTrax regime.

Let me remind people that if they stop exercising for longer than 3 days they will start to lose muscle. I’m going to add to that by admitting that, due to various illnesses, I stopped pushing myself as hard as I should have been.

Yep. My old AT plan was way too much for me.

Way too much.

After messing with my personal settings etc on the AT website, I’m able to use it again. I did upper body one day and was super sore the following 3 days. I had planned to do lower body the next day but that didn’t happen due to a lack of gym time (my fault). I was, however, able to start my new running plan.

Fitness Magazine’s Your Fastest 5k.

Fitness Mag fastest 5k

And then life got in the way and I went to the Write on the River conference. I’ll be posting about that later on my writing blog.

I’ll continue running on Monday. I know the plan says to rest on Monday but whatever. My days don’t usually correspond to the plan’s days anyway. It’s always been more convenient to have Sunday as a rest day and silly for me to rest on Monday.

There’s a charity 5k happening on June 1st that I wanted to participate in. It’s being hosted by my husband’s church.

FMT5kRunWalk-Rotator-2014

Should be fun. I’m not active in the church but I thought this would be a good way for me to support it.

Oh yeah. I’m up to 14 push-ups in my push-up challenge. I missed yesterday and today. Oops…But I’ve missed plenty of days with the other two as well. What can I say? I got bored. Let’s shrug it off and concentrate on the fact that I can do 14 full push-ups! Woo!

Do you stress when you fall behind in your fitness or do you go with the flow?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on May 18, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

