Inner Thigh Workouts

Spot Reduction – the act of focusing on one area of the body exercise-wise in the hopes of reducing the amount of fat there

Spot reduction is a myth – it doesn’t work. Getting rid of fat comes from a combination of cardio, strength training, and a healthy diet. Your genes will determine where you lose your fat.

However, focusing on one area will still gain you muscle. So if you work your core more in an attempt to whittle down your waist, you won’t find the fat melting off your belly but you will find your core growing stronger and that’s always a plus.

Having more muscles also allows you to get through more cardio at one time not to mention that muscles burn more calories than fat does so it gets easier to lose weight.

I mentioned in my previous post – Focusing on Certain Muscle Groups and Stretching – that someone recently asked for advice on how to work specific parts of her body. I gave a quick sketch on stretches and am now going to give an inner thigh workout that I found on Blogilates. It’s an awesome site full of great workouts.

b4588e996b040ce691c43f9f47fb907a

I’ve recently come across some new information on the Inner Thigh Lift. I was always taught to lie on my side with my top leg bent behind the bottom leg to get it out of the way. This works but it seems it doesn’t work as well as bending the top leg and resting it in front of the bottom leg.

5fff318909b914e49c56e6a36de11301

I tested this out and find pros and cons with both positions.

Top Leg Bent Behind:

  • Pro – Bottom hip was stationary
  • Pro – Felt the burn in inner thigh
  • Con – Was able to lift bottom leg too high (as mentioned in above pic)
  • Con – Had to adjust my body to relieve hip pain (pressure from lying on the hip bone)

Top Leg Crossed Over Front:

  • Pro – Seemed harder
  • Pro – No hip pain (wasn’t lying directly on hip bone)
  • Con – Bottom hip wasn’t stationary so it would try to roll when I’d lift my bottom leg
  • Con – Bottom leg kept trying to change direction (along with the hip) so I had to concentrate to keep the correct alignment

Keep in mind that other people don’t seem to have this hip weirdness that I have. Of course, I haven’t talked to anyone about it so I really wouldn’t know how normal it is. I’ve never seen other people’s hips pop out to the side (not out of the socket, just out to the side) when doing hip circles during warm-up though.

This next move would be good for beginners. It’s not difficult but you’re working both legs at once.

745c553d240994fd9421c7612f07e83c

This isn’t something I would normally stick in my workout, but it can modified a number of ways to add in other muscle groups such as a crunch when the legs are apart. In fact, I quite enjoy the V-Crunch and have done it often enough in the past. I always hold some kind of weight when performing it though.

Although I added in one workout already, I really liked this next one too and didn’t want to pass it up for later. I’m guessing the Pilates Froggers are the same as in the previous workout from Blogilates.

(SIDE NOTE: Back on Pointe has bunches of awesome workouts too. It’s a great blog!)

78c1751d9061f2c322d1c397c9efadfd

On a side note, the writing side of my life is reaching a critical stage and it’s becoming increasingly more difficult to concentrate on my blogs so I’m cutting back on my posting to once a week instead of twice. Of course, with two blogs this still ends up equaling two posts a week but 2 is easier than 4.

Expect new posts every Sunday. Hopefully having an entire week to prepare them will mean the quality will be higher. This is a temporary change and will last until I’m done with my manuscript. Check out my writing blog – Kathryn St. John-Shin’s Writing World – for more information on that.

What part of your body do you most want to work on?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on May 4, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hurray! I’m excited to try these! Of course, my inner thighs hurt just reading that last workout, but we’ll see how I do. 😀 Off for a walk-jog right now, so today is arms and tomorrow will be inner thighs. ::whimper::

Leave a Reply

